What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Planning to get a new MacBook Pro tonight, recommendations?

Cadence

Hi HWC,
after years of hating on Apple, I now have to get myself a MacBook Pro because what I'm studying in University, them and the rest of the entertainment industry use Mac OS based software -_- (ProTools,Qlab,Final Cut,etc.).
Anyways, I haven't jumped ship to the i7 processors for my desktop yet so I'm just wondering how comparable any of the i7 MacBook Pros (I'm looking at 15" and 13") will be to my outdated desktop (rig in the sig!) and if you guys have any recommendations regarding MacBook Pros.
I plan on adding an additional 4GB of RAM later on so any thoughts of manufacturers, etc. would be helpful as I've read Apple is picky with that.

Thanks guys.

Edit:
I chose this path instead of getting a non-apple laptop because I find installing W7 with BootCamp is easier than having to find a laptop that has the right hardware and hackintoshing.

Last edited:

SKYMTL

HardwareCanuck Review Editor
Staff member
There shouldn't be any compatibility issues between the programs your industry uses and the Windows version of those programs. Most file formats are cross platform supported.

As for other things you may want to know: my girlfriend has a new Macbook Pro 15" and its overheating issues have been a constant headache.

Cadence

There is no Qlab for windows. There is SFX which is garbage. FinalCut is only for Mac if I'm not mistaken. Pro Tools is on both Mac and Windows, same goes with anything Adobe and Sony Vegas ,etc.
Also, I'm upgrading from a black plastic body MacBook C2D.

SKY: overheating as in it shuts down? or overheating as in it just gets really fricken hot in general? I know Macbooks all of them have been at hot-to-the-touch at some point or another.

p3t3rsn