What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Fan headers Case or Motherboard ?

Dolomats

Hello,

I have a Phanteks Enthoo EVOLV ATX ATX Mid Tower Case and Asus MAXIMUS VIII HERO ATX LGA1151 Motherboard.

I will be using 5 fans, and i would like to know wich is better the case fans header or the motherboard one and why ?

Thanks

MARSTG

Mobo : software control and you can now set your own rpm curve/profile.

Bartacus

If using PWM fans, what MARSTG said. If using regular 3-pin fans, the included case controller might be a better option, depending on how it controls the fans. I have no experience with that case / controller, but most of them have a basic push-button control low / medium / full speed settings for the fans. If you can toggle fan speeds with a push of a button, and the fans don't make odd noise when connected to the controller, that's a good option.

KaptCrunch

Mobo : software control and you can now set your own rpm curve/profile.

PROVIDED the fan(s) don't exceed fan header spec Asus MAXIMUS VIII HERO per header is 12 watts (1A)

if over then use a fan controller, only manual adjustment

I see case fan is 1.4 watts the header will take 9 of same fan with 11.2 watts on header

Last edited:

KaptCrunch

MARSTG is the route to go let MB control fans , once pass set up in CMOS its carefree

if you like to tinker then just use a fan controller an do it manually

Note: the case fan is 1.4 watts can use 9 of the same fan on MB header = 11.2 watts, still within header spec

MARSTG

I damaged the fan controller on my case FD Arc Midi R2 and now I use a 4 fan pwm splitter on one of the pwm fan headers on the mobo GB H57M-USB3 and I use the speed fan utility of the mobo to create my own fan curve profile. Works like a charm so far. I have 4 fans : 3x140mm FD and one CM JetFlo 120mm.

KaptCrunch

CM x1 4.8 WATTS