What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

2600k @ 5.0

Jonesy

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 15, 2008
Messages
168
Location
Sudbury, Ontario
Well, decided to see what my CPU could hit today.

Sitting stable after 10 minutes of Prime95 @ 5.0
x50 Multiplier
100Mhz Bus Speed
Vcore: 1.44
Ram @ 1333 (Can't get stable at 1600 without pushing the Vcore up beyond my cooling capabilities)
100% load I am peaking at 83c, 5.0 is just too much for the NH-D14 would need to look into better cooling solutions such as a custom loop if I want to push higher / stay at 5.0, the temp is just far to high.
CPU-Z Validator 3.1

Posted edited to highest stable Clock speed

I think I am going to look into dropping a CPU only custom loop into the rig, to see if I can get some better numbers. I just don't really have $500 to blow (or w/e it costs) Nor am I certain that the RV03-B supports an internal loop, and external systems aren't really an option with my 2 and 3 year old nephews at the house every other day.
 
Last edited:

keto

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
264
Location
Edmonton
Dunno how much voltage you've fed it, above the 1.424 I see in the screenie, but that's about right for 4.8. You probably need a lot closer to 1.5v to hit 4.9.

With BCLK at 103, you're probably overclocking your RAM, which in the 67/68 chipsets, can be a big barrier. Set your RAM speed, timings, and voltage MANUALLY, don't allow any memory turbo or other enhancements. If you really want to see what your cpu will do, downclock your RAM to 1333 (and set everything manually) and work on your cpu multi. You've got the best possible overclocking motherboard. Would have to see your bios settings to make any other suggestions. But isolate the cpu is what I suggest for this chipset, then speed your RAM back up after you stabilize the cpu.
 

Jonesy

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 15, 2008
Messages
168
Location
Sudbury, Ontario
Ya, I have just hit 4.9 @ 1.4v
x49 multiplier
100 BCLK
71c @ load
Ram was sitting somewhere around 1649 @103, sitting down at 1600 now. I will pop it down to 1333 and see how far I can push the CPU, before hitting the 1.5v
However from all I have been reading it seems that my Vcore is low for a 4.9Ghz clock speed, so maybe I manage to get a strong chip.
CPU-Z Validator 3.1

I kind of got excited at the 4.84, and didn't spend enough time tweaking to get optimal performance with what I have.

If I can get it into the 5.0ghz range I will 8hr Prime it and see if it is actually stable. CineBench 11.5 can only test stability for a short period of time.
 

Jonesy

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 15, 2008
Messages
168
Location
Sudbury, Ontario
Well, 3hrs into the prime test @ 5.0Ghz, my system shut down due to temp's...My CPU climbed up into 86c, CPUID Hardware monitor crashed, then comp shut down. I need better cooling for both my basement (it is toasty down here) and the CPU before I go back to 5.0Ghz to fully check the stability of the O/C I had reached. :sad:
I guess it is time to pull out the Credit card and look into water cooling.
 

keto

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
264
Location
Edmonton
Your computer didn't crash due to temp, it crashed due to insufficient vcore. Thermal throttling isn't until 95C and even that won't crash the system, just slow it down.
 

Jonesy

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 15, 2008
Messages
168
Location
Sudbury, Ontario
Your computer didn't crash due to temp, it crashed due to insufficient vcore. Thermal throttling isn't until 95C and even that won't crash the system, just slow it down.
Ah. I wasn't sure. I figured heat, because as it rolled up to 86c, Hardware Monitor froze up, and about 30-40secs later my system re-booted. I know the Vcore seemed rather low for 5.0Ghz, I just don't feel safe bringing it any higher then 1.44 with my temperatures. Going to be buying a W/C loop in about a week, so I can get stable.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
715
Location
Ottawa
Well, decided to see what my CPU could hit today.

Sitting stable after 10 minutes of Prime95 @ 5.0
x50 Multiplier
100Mhz Bus Speed
Vcore: 1.44
Ram @ 1333 (Can't get stable at 1600 without pushing the Vcore up beyond my cooling capabilities)
100% load I am peaking at 83c, 5.0 is just too much for the NH-D14 would need to look into better cooling solutions such as a custom loop if I want to push higher / stay at 5.0, the temp is just far to high.
CPU-Z Validator 3.1

Posted edited to highest stable Clock speed

I think I am going to look into dropping a CPU only custom loop into the rig, to see if I can get some better numbers. I just don't really have $500 to blow (or w/e it costs) Nor am I certain that the RV03-B supports an internal loop, and external systems aren't really an option with my 2 and 3 year old nephews at the house every other day.

Did you actually change the vcore in bios to 1.44? or did you leave it at auto? because at 5.0 and only 1.44 v it won't boot, yea I have heard people say they can, but it's virtually impossible.

Also as others suggested, set your ram to manually and don't change the base clock. I had 2x4gig gskill 1600 mhz kits and I just had the timings set to to 9 9 9 24 and at 1600 and it worked fine at 5.0 ghz.

Also there is a guy here and I think he is a professional clocker his name is zsamz, I was having issues going past 4.8 ghz, he told me to change the memory voltage to 1.55 and it worked like a charm.

When I did the cpu-z I dont have that no more, unless i have it somewhere in my hard drive but no system yet:( it would show similar I believe 1.42 or 1.44 cant remember for sure.



However, the best clock I found was 4.5 ghz at bios vcore at 1.36 but it would never hit more than 1.32. I was also using a prolimatch megha with 2 scythe slip stream 1900 rpm fans and I never hit 58 degrees on Linx, on prime the mas I would hit was maybe 55 degrees.
 

keto

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
264
Location
Edmonton
Ah. I wasn't sure. I figured heat, because as it rolled up to 86c, Hardware Monitor froze up, and about 30-40secs later my system re-booted. I know the Vcore seemed rather low for 5.0Ghz, I just don't feel safe bringing it any higher then 1.44 with my temperatures. Going to be buying a W/C loop in about a week, so I can get stable.
That's a good plan if you insist on going further. Keep in mind though, you'll never feel the difference between 4.8 and 5.0 for gaming or whatever...and you're not going to own any world record benchmarks without much more advanced cooling....so those last 200 (or maybe you're REALLY lucky and you get 5.1 or 5.2 so 300-400) Mhz are going to be expensive :biggrin:

I don't think you've said, but *if* gaming is your main usage, a vid card upgrade is a much better use of the money :punk:
 

Jonesy

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 15, 2008
Messages
168
Location
Sudbury, Ontario
That's a good plan if you insist on going further. Keep in mind though, you'll never feel the difference between 4.8 and 5.0 for gaming or whatever...and you're not going to own any world record benchmarks without much more advanced cooling....so those last 200 (or maybe you're REALLY lucky and you get 5.1 or 5.2 so 300-400) Mhz are going to be expensive :biggrin:

I don't think you've said, but *if* gaming is your main usage, a vid card upgrade is a much better use of the money :punk:
While yes, gaming is the main usage..I just want to see where the chip will go, I know the difference wont be noticeable. Also, in order to get higher FPS then 2x 460's, I need 2x 560's and up (need sli of anything in the 5xx series minus the 590, so the price is much higher then the W/C will be)

Your_Friendly_Gamer - I manually set the Vcore to 1.44, and I did boot to OS, like I said I ran Prime95 for 3hrs @1.44Vcore
Currently running 4.6Ghz @ 1.32Vcore until I can get some better cooling. Still need to Prime it for a period longer then 2hrs
 
Top