What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

3D Printer / CNC discussion thread

Bartacus

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 22, 2014
Messages
719
Location
Ottawa, Canuckistan
I tried to do some 'productive' printing. Not sure if these parts will work out, but I printed a Hero Me Gen 3 fan duct cooler. I chose this version since it has pieces for the BLtouch, as well as an option to reuse the OEM fans. This is also the first 'assembled' set of parts I ever printed, so I'm kinda geeking out on that. 🙃

The 4 parts apart:


Together (just loosely assembled, not screwed):


I also printed a 20mm calibration cube which tells me I still have work to do:




 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Folding Team
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
18,939
Location
Moncton NB
Keep in mind that you'll have to change the BLTouch offset to whatever the cooler design specifies.
 

Bartacus

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 22, 2014
Messages
719
Location
Ottawa, Canuckistan
Keep in mind that you'll have to change the BLTouch offset to whatever the cooler design specifies.
Yessir, this one is also adjustable. The BLT pieces slide together, and have an adjustable screw slot thing. So I'm hoping it should fit in the 'OEM' spot.
 

danmitch1

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 15, 2007
Messages
1,213
Thanks for your input guys, Looks like the consensus is the pi 4 2gb. Ive done a few time-lapses and the printer head always gets in the way and ruins the video..I guess ill just have to try the octolapse for my self eh!
Im guessing I could power it from the printer PSU with my stepdown converter no?

SugarJ , what kind of air compressor are you using there? must have a large capacity?

That Hero Me Gen 3 was my first fan mod, not sure about yours but I had to modify it to fit on the carriage.. I switched to a pestfang .
 

Bartacus

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 22, 2014
Messages
719
Location
Ottawa, Canuckistan
I'm powering my Pi stand-alone. I don't think it's a wise idea to power it off the printer PSU. You want to be able to shut that down cleanly, not just power it off. It's a little PC after all.
 

lowfat

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
9,849
Location
Grande Prairie, AB
Pi needs 3A, if you are have a decent voltage regulator that can handle that current, then no problem doing it if you have a good printer PSU.
 

SugarJ

Moderator
Staff member
Folding Team
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
7,130
Location
Langley, BC
SugarJ , what kind of air compressor are you using there? must have a large capacity?
It's a little Mastercraft 3 Gallon. There's just enough air flowing through to move the shavings. It runs constantly and can only maintain about 40 PSI with that amount of air flow. If I'm going to be cutting a lot of aluminum plate stock I'll be getting something beefier.
 

danmitch1

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 15, 2007
Messages
1,213
Oh ok, so you are better off powering with the usb i guess, I guess one of those fast chargers would be the best to avoid the low power error sswilson mentioned..

Only a 3 gallon!? Must drive everyone crazy lol.. those mastercrafts are fkin noisy!
 

SugarJ

Moderator
Staff member
Folding Team
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
7,130
Location
Langley, BC
About the same noise level as my shop-vac. I keep the garage closed if the neighbors are in their front yards.
 

Entz

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 17, 2011
Messages
1,159
Location
Kelowna
Is there such a thing as a quiet compressor anyways (assuming same room and not locked outside or something). They are all annoying as frig.
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top