What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Acer 5560 - updating bios issue - any bios/software savy people to help?

Valkyrie

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
710
Location
Chilliwack...Time Is Just A Rubber Band....
How long does the blinky stick take to boot to a DOS prompt on another system. I suspect those original files you downloaded would work if you could get the stick to boot and execute the FLASH.bat file. You can always write your own autoexec.bat.


As KaptCrunch mentioned it may help to pull the system drive so it only has one boot option. I saw some mention of that in the support forums too.



Don't beat your head against the wall....that won't help.....:haha:


Edit: I see from the #1 in thread you already pulled the other bootables....:doh:
 
Last edited:

Bond007

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
5,040
Location
Nova Scotia
How long does the blinky stick take to boot to a DOS prompt on another system. I suspect those original files you downloaded would work if you could get the stick to boot and execute the FLASH.bat file. You can always write your own autoexec.bat.


As KaptCrunch mentioned it may help to pull the system drive so it only has one boot option. I saw some mention of that in the support forums too.



Don't beat your head against the wall....that won't help.....:haha:
Write my own what??? Lol. I love computer hardware, but when it comes to software/any form of coding I have 0 capability. I won’t have any time to play with this laptop for the next few days at a minimum. Hopefully I will have another option to try by the time I get another chance. I was hoping to have it as a kids laptop soon...
 

Valkyrie

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
710
Location
Chilliwack...Time Is Just A Rubber Band....
Write my own what??? Lol. I love computer hardware, but when it comes to software/any form of coding I have 0 capability. I won’t have any time to play with this laptop for the next few days at a minimum. Hopefully I will have another option to try by the time I get another chance. I was hoping to have it as a kids laptop soon...



Autoexec.bat is very simple. A plain text file with the name autoexec.bat and containing the command FLASH in this case.
 

enaberif

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
11,391
Location
Calgahree, AB
Most likely with a corrupt bios you aren't going to get any does commands to work.

When I corrupted the BIOS on a Lenovo it required a very specific sequence to allow emergency bios recovery.

I have a feeling the same thing is going on here and no matter the bootable usb it won't work.
 

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,012
Location
Toronto, ON
It could be something really silly like being hard-coded to A:\ and required a USB floppy drive to work... a lot of BIOS code is really old and it wouldn't surprise me if it didn't support USB flash drives at all.
 

enaberif

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
11,391
Location
Calgahree, AB
It could be something really silly like being hard-coded to A:\ and required a USB floppy drive to work... a lot of BIOS code is really old and it wouldn't surprise me if it didn't support USB flash drives at all.
I think a step back and 1 question needs to be asked.

Can anything BIOS related be seen when the machine is restarted.
 

Valkyrie

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 3, 2012
Messages
710
Location
Chilliwack...Time Is Just A Rubber Band....
Don't think it's a screen issue Kapt. I've been following this since the previous thread on it.




I've read through quite a few of the Crisis Recovery type threads and it seems for sure they are making a bootable USB stick, usually using mini dos. I would say if you can boot anything, you can boot a minimal memory resident MS DOS also. The BIOS flash tools downloaded from ACER are for DOS prompt (good) or Windows (not ever) use. If the stick is indeed booting to a DOS prompt that can't be seen due to corruption issues running the FLASH.bat by autoexec should work just as good as if you can do it from the command prompt.....( just REM out that pause command )......
 
Last edited:

zoob

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 21, 2007
Messages
1,656
Location
Toronto, ON
Usually BIOS recovery does not boot into OS at all, it's all managed by BIOS boot block. If boot block is broken it wouldn't trigger the BIOS crisis recovery mode.

Is the USB stick completely blank besides the BIOS file? Also unplug the HDD.

Try the following filenames. Put ONLY a single file on the USB stick formatted FAT (not FAT32 or exFAT)
JE50115.bin (stock filename)
JE50.bin (computer without BIOS version)
JE50115.fd
JE50.fd
BIOS.cap

Otherwise try burning only the single file JE50115.bin to a CD and doing the same recovery. Maybe it's the USB stick your computer doesn't like. Sounds weird, but different models of sticks come up differently on older computers.
 

Twitter

Top