What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

AMD R9 290x doesn't like my PC ### SOLVED ###

b1lk1

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
2,750
Location
Lindsay, Ontario
OK, you can see my specs. Here's my issue: ASUS R9 290X CUII 4GB causes my PC to lockup. It worked OK for about a week after the install, now it just locks up after 5-10 minutes and I have major issues getting Eyefinity to work.

Fast forward to today and I finally got a chance to pop it into my son's PC which has a Gigabyte Z97 motherboard and i5-4670 and PC P&C 500W PSU (newer model). While I don't have anything 3D installed that I can run on his PC, it is not locking up on desktop like it would on my PC.

So, while I really want to blame my power supply, any chance my motherboard, a basic Intel workstation DQ67SW, just is incompatible with it? I don't want to buy a PSU for nothing and I was really hoping to not have to buy a motherboard.

I have no artifacting when the R9 is in my PC and my PC does not lock up until after I install video drivers.
 
Last edited:

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,870
Location
Moncton NB
SPARKLE R-FSP700-80ETN 700W ATX12V V2.3 / EPS12V V2.92 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready | eBay

Is that the one there? (I used that link because it's got some pretty decent images... :) ).

If so... couple of things.... are you using both PCIe cables? The two cables are on separate rails so you should be using one cable for the 8 pin and the other one for the 6 pin. The other question would be the makeup of the cables... are they true 8 pin connectors where the extra pins have their own wires from the PSU, or are they the 6+2 where the extra 2 are just split off of the existing 6 pin grounds?
 

b1lk1

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
2,750
Location
Lindsay, Ontario
Yes, that is the one. It has a true 8 wires for the 8 pin. I tried using both as well.

Biggest reason I am really thinking it is the motherboard is that this setup DID work for almost a week before failing to boot. Reinstalling Windows 10 (4 times) would be OK until driver install then it became unstable. Same with Windows 7. Installing the R9 in my son's PC was completely stable with a 500W PSU ( PC P&C 500W).

I really don't want to tear into my son's PC and swap power supplies, I truly hate messing with someone's computer.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,870
Location
Moncton NB
Hard to know for sure, but I'd still lean towards the PSU. That's a power hungry card and even with the two rails (that can't be a "tried" btw... that's the only configuration you should be using with a multi rail) it's still close to the max rating on both combined. It might also be the PCIe slot power itself... there's no auxiliary molex connector on the motherboard is there? (I couldn't see one from the pic I pulled up).

Power hungry cards like this are why I switched to big fat single rails in the first place. :)
 

b1lk1

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
2,750
Location
Lindsay, Ontario
This is a business class motherboard, there is only a 4 pin connector for the CPU and nothing else besides the 24 pin.

I also feel it is the PCI-E slot not giving enough juice.

I hear yah on the single rail, but this should be enough. I've had it for a few years, but it has not seen heavy use and I did buy it new. Worst part is trying to find a reasonably priced MATX S1155 motherboard.
 

SugarJ

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
6,895
Location
Langley, BC
Swap the PSU's first. Easy to do and you have them there. Then if you are still having issues it's the mobo. But I can almost guarantee it's the PSU.
 

b1lk1

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
2,750
Location
Lindsay, Ontario
This is, by far, the most power hungry PC I have built in 5+ years so it's time to hunt down a PSU I guess.
 
Top