What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

AMD Ryzen Embedded V1500B

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
10,619
Location
Toronto, ON
It's a long shot, but anyone have any experience with the V1500B? And even more specifically, in the QNAP TS-873AU?

Can't seem to find much about it, I guess nobody really uses Ryzen Embedded processors it seems. I would think it's faster than the Celeron N3150 that's in my TS-853A today, but I'm guessing it's probably slower than a i3-8100T?
 

Mr. Friendly

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
6,782
Location
British Columbia
it appears to be substantially more powerful...by up to 40%.

Passmark scored the V1500B at 6999 points while the i3-8100T came in at 5295 points.
 

Entz

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 17, 2011
Messages
1,870
Location
Kelowna
I seen those in their NAS' it should be a nice upgrade over the ancient AMD ones they were using in the old 873. Those were bulldozer I think...

AMD desktop embedded stuff is quite rare. Epyc ones are more available.

I should be faster than your N3150. As far as AMD specs goes its a 4C 8T Zen (OG) part running at 2.2Ghz no-turbo but with a nice low TDP. No graphics either. Its a late 2018 part. AMD doesn't have an APU that slow, I guess it would be closer to a 2500U mobile part but even that has turbo.

/random grumblings about QNAPs "Rack Tax". A new TS-873A desktop model may end up quite decent.
 

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
10,619
Location
Toronto, ON
Heh, well, toying with the idea for now, but the TVS-872N (i3-8100T w/ 8GB) is $2500, so to get the TS-873AU (V1500B w/ 4GB) and rackmountable for $2400 doesn't seem too bad. I'm somewhat hopeful that either the Intel X520-DA2 or AQN-107 would work in it too and then I'd have 10G since I have both cards just sitting here :)

I have a single domain controller running on my TS-853A today as a "backup", performance is absolutely terrible, so I figure a more powerful unit means I can likely retire this Ryzen 2700 "server" where my 3rd DC is and migrate the other VMs over to my Ryzen 2700X host. It used to run UniFi Video, but now that's on my UDM-Pro, I don't really need 2 "servers" anymore...

Passmark scored the V1500B at 6999 points while the i3-8100T came in at 5295 points.
Got a link? I couldn't find the V1500B on Passmark. I see the V1605B there, which looks similar, but has turbo capabilities and iGPU.
 

Entz

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 17, 2011
Messages
1,870
Location
Kelowna
At some point I expect they will make a TS-873A desktop version for around 1400$ With potentially better expansion. The rack tax is pretty horrible
 

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
10,619
Location
Toronto, ON
At some point I expect they will make a TS-873A desktop version for around 1400$ With potentially better expansion. The rack tax is pretty horrible
Do you think they'll do such a thing? It kinda seems like ARM is taking their low/mid range now.

And while I don't have any rack space now... it would still be nice to be rackable :rolleyes:

that's weird...I can't find it now. and if the V1650B score is 6650 points, my 6999 is obviously off for the V1500B.
Yeah, I'd approximate somewhere around 6400 since it's base clock is higher but lacks turbo too. Still probably better than the i3-8100T though.
 

Entz

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 17, 2011
Messages
1,870
Location
Kelowna
Do you think they'll do such a thing? It kinda seems like ARM is taking their low/mid range now.

And while I don't have any rack space now... it would still be nice to be rackable :rolleyes:


Yeah, I'd approximate somewhere around 6400 since it's base clock is higher but lacks turbo too. Still probably better than the i3-8100T though.
Yeah no idea. They seem to have rack versions of most of their desktop ones. They are slow as molasses at releasing things though.

Sad thing is 2400 can get you a something like a Dell R7515 with full blown EPYC 7302P 16C32T processor in it.
 

Mr. Friendly

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
6,782
Location
British Columbia
Yeah no idea. They seem to have rack versions of most of their desktop ones. They are slow as molasses at releasing things though.

Sad thing is 2400 can get you a something like a Dell R7515 with full blown EPYC 7302P 16C32T processor in it.
and what OS would you use?
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top