What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Anyone have any experience with LG UltraWide monitors?

ShinraCorp

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
683
Location
St-Augustin-de-Desmaures
Hey folks simple question

There's an LG 29UM65-P on sale which is a 29 inch, 29:1 aspect ratio, 2560x1080 resolution. I was wondering if anyone has even seen one in action and if so would you recommend them? I'm doing some multi-tasking and so far my simple 1920x1080p monitor just isn't going to cut it anymore. I also do gaming so of course the picture quality has to be there as well ;)

Thanks in advance.
 

draemn

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 10, 2010
Messages
1,371
Location
Fort St. John, BC
From what I've heard, they are a PITA for gaming... your results will vary and not be ideal in most games. I'd vote skip it for using with gaming.
 

Shadowarez

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
1,402
Location
Arctic Canada
There is a 34" version comming out supposed to be much better in gaming. Ill get ya a link I was looking at this as well for assassin creed black flag.

lg34 ultra wide
 
Last edited:

Shadowarez

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
1,402
Location
Arctic Canada
I need a upgrade I have that 24" Playstation monitor so yeah I want to unleash my new build lol. This thing holding me back. Its great if its used on ps3 for 3d gaming blueray but as pc monitor no.
 

Shadowarez

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
1,402
Location
Arctic Canada
Yeah I gota save for it but holy hell does it look good worth it since swift is taking its sweet @$$ time almost makes me not care that itl cost nearly 2x swift lol.
 

ShinraCorp

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
683
Location
St-Augustin-de-Desmaures
After looking at the LG site for a detailed specs they're two problems I see with the 34" version (for me anyway). First being the GPU, my 670 cannot support a resolution that big :p second... Thunderbolt 2.0 lord all mighty the Intel premium technology that's going to cost another pretty penny to either get a mobo with one or the PCI-E card.

EDIT: Nvm to stupid to read that it has HDMI ports as well lol, although I'm guessing it uses the latest version.
 
Last edited:

Shadowarez

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
1,402
Location
Arctic Canada
Yeah might need lil more power then a 670 but it does have Display port input. Can't wait to take advantage of that.
 

Shadowarez

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
1,402
Location
Arctic Canada
Just found a store has Em for Canada but its actually only $1113 just like buying another i7-4960x not the $1350 I thougth itd be.
 

Twitter

Top