What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Asus Dark Hero x570 OC Help

Shadowarez

Well-known member
Folding Team
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
2,031
Location
Arctic Canada
hi all i got my hands on this Unicorn and it wasnt stomped on run over thrown at wall by CP, or ups, amazing!

was hoping we could start a thread to get others who have this and the 5900-5950x cpus oc help how to navigate this god tier board.

im still hunting the 5950x myself but when i snag one itll be my new rig

parts for this rig so far.
1. Asus Dark Hero (stock)
2. 128gb Gskill 4x32gb 3600mhz CL 16
3. 5950x (someday)
4. Azza Pyramid Case
 

muffler

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
79
I got the same board with a 5900x (i got lucky) and EVGA 3080. pretty awesome setup. i just got the 32gb ram Gskills with 14 CAS. waiting for more to jump in.
 

Shadowarez

Well-known member
Folding Team
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
2,031
Location
Arctic Canada
Do you have CL16 to test I got a few kits of that Gskill royal one is cl 14 3600mhz other is CL16.

My 128gb kit is CL16 I was thinking those ultra low latency are better for APUs.

Still trying for a 5950x and a 3090FE but time will tell.
 

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
10,440
Location
Toronto, ON
I got a 5950X this week, and as it stands, I cannot even run my 4000MHz G.SKILL TridentZ RGB's at the same speeds (3800MHz, 16-16-16-32) that my 3900X was able to. Best I can do now is 3733MHz. I think it's the BIOS and not the CPU though.

Zen 3 looks like it (still) needs to mature a bit more.
 

Shadowarez

Well-known member
Folding Team
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
2,031
Location
Arctic Canada
Long as it runs my 128gb kit at 3600mhz it'll be ok for now. How much was your 5950x iv been tempted to spend the $1300 iv seen them at recently
 

muffler

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 29, 2008
Messages
79
i got my 5900x for 886$ tax in at ME in Ottawa. somebody order one and they ghost them, i just happen to walk in and said as a joke "do you have one", he went out back and came with one. that was the last part i needed.

for the RAM, i wouldnt see an issue with running that much. i got the F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 1.5V CL14-16-16-36 (X2) and run it with no issues at 3800.

FYI, there is an issue with the new BIOS and chipset. Read the forums on ASUS ROG. Some had to manually add their profile instead of using the DCCP auto feature.
 

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
10,440
Location
Toronto, ON
I got it for $1113+HST, so $1268 from PC-Canada but my order was from Nov 12. Still $100 over the $799USD MSRP (assuming direct conversion)...

If you're able to get one shipped to you for $1300CAD, that's pretty good. I surely haven't seen any that cheap, most on eBay seem to be over $1500 after shipping/taxes/import. Aero Malls lists at $1429 too.
 

Shadowarez

Well-known member
Folding Team
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
2,031
Location
Arctic Canada
Yeah seen that one I seen the guy said he smoothed out the IHS so the name isn't etched on it anymore.
 

bassnut

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
85
The more ram you use the harder it is to get stable at higher speeds. There was a pretty good explanation over at overclockers by woomack, if I can find it ill link it. But when overclocking ram 2 sticks is easier to get stable then 4. For example 2 sticks of 32 gig are easier the 4 sticks of 8.

hi all i got my hands on this Unicorn and it wasnt stomped on run over thrown at wall by CP, or ups, amazing!

was hoping we could start a thread to get others who have this and the 5900-5950x cpus oc help how to navigate this god tier board.

im still hunting the 5950x myself but when i snag one itll be my new rig

parts for this rig so far.
1. Asus Dark Hero (stock)
2. 128gb Gskill 4x32gb 3600mhz CL 16
3. 5950x (someday)
4. Azza Pyramid Case
 

Soultribunal

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
8,738
Location
Mississauga
The more ram you use the harder it is to get stable at higher speeds. There was a pretty good explanation over at overclockers by woomack, if I can find it ill link it. But when overclocking ram 2 sticks is easier to get stable then 4. For example 2 sticks of 32 gig are easier the 4 sticks of 8.

+1 to this.

Even back in the OC hayday, it was always better to use 2 sticks to 4. I bet I if I could look at the archives here some of our old reviewers had the same info as well.

-ST
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top