What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Asus p5ke wi-fi Cmos issues

1downfall

Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
7
hello all. I am new here and am looking for some help.
I just received my MB back from Asus via an RMA ans of course they say the board is fine.
here is my issue:
I can boot up and run all day long w/no cmos battery. this is annoying.
So, i tried 3 new batteries. re-set my jumpers and set my times etc. in bios. Save changes and reboot.....but it wont come back on. Well, everything comes on, Power supply runs, lights, vga....but no beep. It will run like this until i turn it off.
I do not want another rma and be down 2-3 weeks again.
here are my system info. any advice would be appreciated. thank you.
1downfall
OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3 Build 2600
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Manufacturer System manufacturer
System Model P5K-E
System Type X86-based PC
Processor x86 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 6 GenuineIntel ~1800 Mhz
BIOS Version/Date American Megatrends Inc. 1102, 6/19/2008
SMBIOS Version 2.4
Windows Directory C:\WINDOWS
System Directory C:\WINDOWS\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "5.1.2600.5512 (xpsp.080413-2111)"
Time Zone Eastern Standard Time
Total Physical Memory 2,048.00 MB
Available Physical Memory 1.52 GB
Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
Available Virtual Memory 1.96 GB
Page File Space 3.85 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys
 

1downfall

Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
7
I have:
asus p5ke wi fi board
intel core duo E8400 lga 775 3ghz
2 g corsair ddr2 matched
visiontek ATI hd3870
coolmax 650 pws
1 plextor dvd write/cd ect.
3 250g sata hdd (1) for C drive, (2) for storage
running windows xp media
 

3.0charlie

3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
9,910
Location
Bedford QC
1. Run with minimal hardware, outside your case on a cardboard piece: board, CPU, 1 Ram stick, video card.

2. Can you swap the PSU and the GPU with other components? Usually no beeps means a dead video card, or a failing PSU.
 

paphman910

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
200
Location
Victoria, BC
..... Save changes and reboot.....but it wont come back on. Well, everything comes on, Power supply runs, lights, vga....but no beep. It will run like this until i turn it off.
........

What exactly do you mean? Make sure you plug in the 4 pin connector to the cpu power.

Paphman910
 

TerenceJ

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 16, 2008
Messages
232
Location
New Westminster
so if you remove your battery, and start up your PC, it will run?
And when you install it and try to run it it won't work?

Thats weird, so I guess the downfall is, if you ever overclock or anything you lose as your settings as soon as you power off, you contact them regarding this issue?
 

1downfall

Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
7
What exactly do you mean? Make sure you plug in the 4 pin connector to the cpu power.

Paphman910
4 pin x2 is connected to psu. my manual says "make sure you remove the cap on the EATX12V connector before connecting an 8 pin EPS + 12V power plug. I have 2 4 pin connectors at the EATX12V....
hmmmm
and then under that it reads "use only EITHER a 4 pin ATX12V or an 8-pin EPS + 12V power plug for the EATX12V connector" I may have messed up here.
Have you flashed the bios yet? No. Not yet. think i should?
Usually no beeps means a dead video card, or a failing PSU. I get beeps at start up if one is not plugged in.
 

3.0charlie

3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
9,910
Location
Bedford QC
You either use the 4 pin connector, or the 8 pin connector located between the i/o backplate connectors and the CPU socket. The 8 pin connector can be 2 connectors with 4 pins each. Don't worry, the pin pattern is dumbproof, since only that specific connector can be located in that socket.
 

1downfall

Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
7
You either use the 4 pin connector, or the 8 pin connector located between the i/o backplate connectors and the CPU socket. The 8 pin connector can be 2 connectors with 4 pins each. Don't worry, the pin pattern is dumbproof, since only that specific connector can be located in that socket.
would the 8 pin be 2 separate connectors?
Your are correct....it is dumb proof. However, both connectors fit in ea. (4) pair of slots. ! fits onside and the other fits the other......No reversing them. so do I continue to use the 2?
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top