What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Bad cpu/mobo for o/c?

Frustian

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Messages
6
I got this computer a while ago, and I had hoped to do a mild overclock on it. Unfortunatly I had some problems a while ago a blamed it on the PSU, but since I have a new PSU and it still doesn't o/c I would like to see if I can improve the performance a bit.

I have:
AMD 3700+ (s939)
Gigabyte K8-something mobo
OCZ 2x512MB Premier RAM (or whatever it is with the bronze heatspreader)
Corsair hx520

Basically, the default FSB (is it FSB? I thought it may be different for AMD but I'm going to call it FSB for the rest of my post) is 200, and I managed to get it up to 210 no problem, it barely raised in temperature (47C) and there is no stability issues. Once I bump up the FSB to 215 the computer won't even POST, and anything in between makes it have to restart itself a couple times before it can boot up successfully. I have tried bumping up the voltages on both the RAM and the CPU, and I have tried changing the CPU/RAM speed divider but nothing can make it boot up at 215 FSB.

Is it normal for a computer to quit after such a small overclock and no signs of anything wrong 5fsb lower? or did I just miss something I have to do?

I posted in troubleshooting since the overclocking forum description seemed more for posting results.
 

Supergrover

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 2, 2006
Messages
4,355
Location
Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
I would say it's memory problem since it wouldn't post, try lowering your divider.
Okay I see you did but I still think its a RAM limitation problem by the no post. Timings? have you tried loosening them?
 

BALISTX

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
2,042
Location
Ottawa, ON
I would say it is your motherboard and not the Processor. The 3700+ San Diegos were amazing overclockers. That is the same core that is used for the Athlon FX processors. The only difference was the FX's were unlocked. If you try and find a DFI LANParty UT Ultra-D board or even a good Asus A8N-E/Deluxe, you will have better overclockability.
 

Supergrover

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 2, 2006
Messages
4,355
Location
Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
I would say it is your motherboard and not the Processor. The 3700+ San Diegos were amazing overclockers. That is the same core that is used for the Athlon FX processors. The only difference was the FX's were unlocked. If you try and find a DFI LANParty UT Ultra-D board or even a good Asus A8N-E/Deluxe, you will have better overclockability.
IDK BALISTX just about any 939 mobo should do a 15mhz overclock, I agree thought doubt it's the cpu sandys were/are nice overclockers.
 

Frustian

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Messages
6
Thanks for the suggestion, but even after playing around with the memory timings and voltages, it still won't post.
 

Mr. Cipher

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 25, 2007
Messages
453
Location
London (UK)
I have the same problem with my s939 3700+, on an ASUS A8R-MVP. I have an 11x mult and get ~205mhz FSB for a lousy 55mhz OC...any more and the system does not POST. My ram is 3-3-3-8-1T, but I never bothered to loosen the timings to check if that would help. I set HT to x3 (600mhz) and x4 (800mhz), neither worked. I also used combinations of lower multipliers and higher FSBs.

Maybe you and I got some lemon cpus.
 
Last edited:

Frustian

Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Messages
6
Yeah, it's disappointing that I was unable to overclock it a significant amount. I'm going to be getting a C2Q soonish anyways so it's not a big deal though, I'd just like to have a bit more performance in the next couple of months.
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top