What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Bad ram or motherboard?

bledwk

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
6
My computer doesn't POST. I shut it down one night and the next day it wouldn't start. I suspected the RAM, so I took out three of the sticks and tried to boot. It worked. So I tried every stick individually and one of them wasn't working. But then when I was putting them back in, another stick stopped working. And then it stopped posting again. Everything else seems to be powering up fine. I also unplugged all unnecessary component.

I now suspect all my RAM to be fried and was wondering if a bad memory slot can fry the RAM? Also, could bad RAM fry a motherboard?


some info:
Motherboard: ASUS M2N-Sli Deluxe
Processor: AMD X2 6000
Ram: 4x 1GB Buffalo Firestix
OCZ 700W Power Supply
Video card: EVGA 8800GTS


Thanks,
 
Last edited:

chrisk

Folding Captain
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
7,541
Location
GTA, Ontario
Can you get it to post with any ram in? If so, check the volts needed for your ram and set the voltage yourself in the bios. I had a M2N board that had issues giving the ram proper volts on boot, and I had to set it with another generic stick to get it to post.
 

bledwk

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
6
Can you get it to post with any ram in? If so, check the volts needed for your ram and set the voltage yourself in the bios. I had a M2N board that had issues giving the ram proper volts on boot, and I had to set it with another generic stick to get it to post.

Right now it doesn't post at all with the RAM I have. I've tried them in different slots and nothing. Also, if it helps, I built this computer two years ago and didn't have any problems until now.
 

BT!

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 10, 2008
Messages
842
Location
Muskoka
i had the same thing happen the other day, shut down at night and next morning it wouldn't post, it ended up being a storage 640gb HDD.
 

odis172

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 16, 2008
Messages
672
Location
Ottawa, ON
If it wont post at all, reset the bios and then start it up with one of the sticks that was working.

When its on, turn the psu off, unplug it, press the power button a few times.
Removed the cmos battery, switch the rtc jumper over to the reset position, wait 10s.
Put the jumper back, install the battery. Turn psu on, power up.

Also i ran into a similar issue before and to get it to post, i had to turn off psu, press power button twice, each for 5 seconds, then turn the psu back on.

gl!
 

chrisk

Folding Captain
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
7,541
Location
GTA, Ontario
Swapping parts (ie. the psu) is ideal, but if you don't have them around then it gets tough. If you had a multimeter lying around you could check the psu that way if the machine is dead. You can also try your machine on a bench to se if there are any shorts anywhere.
 

bledwk

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
6
Alright, right now the only things connected are the motherboard, PSU, Processor and a stick of RAM.

I have tried resetting CMOS/Take out the battery
I sadly don't have a spare PSU, I'll try to borrow one from a friend.
I'll be taking everything out, hopefully tomorrow. I'll try to get a cheap piece of RAM to see if it does anything. But I ask my original questions again, can a bad memory slot fry the RAM? could bad RAM fry a motherboard?


Thanks a lot for the help guys, it's very appreciated.
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top