What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Bigadv Core A5 Coming Soon Including Linux; Client Upgrade Req'd [6.34 Binaries Up ]

Charloz24

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
262
I will have it running on bare metal where I can. The 860 is my gaming rig, though. And just as I suspected... TPF with vmware on a 6901 is about 33 minutes, down from 44 min on 6900 using the Windows client - about a 50% improvement in PPD.
How much memory have you on your 860? Last year when bigadv folding was just in Linux, 6gb mem was needed, is it still the case?
 

Dead Things

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
2,053
Location
Centre of the Universe
Just 4GB. I've only allocated 2048MB to the virtual machine. Still, with no other applications running - just the usual processes and the virtual machine - my RAM usage is at 85%. In the past, this kind of address saturation has led to instability of the guest, but A2 bigadv was highly unstable even in the best of times. So while running with 4GB may not be the problem it used to be, I can nonetheless see a pretty clear case that can be made for recommending at least 6GB.

I'll keep a close eye on stability and any potential EUEs and let you know if any crop up. Either way, I'll probably end up upgrading my RAM now that DDR3-1600 2x4GB kits can be had on the cheap.
 

Charloz24

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
262
Just 4GB. I've only allocated 2048MB to the virtual machine. Still, with no other applications running - just the usual processes and the virtual machine - my RAM usage is at 85%. In the past, this kind of address saturation has led to instability of the guest, but A2 bigadv was highly unstable even in the best of times. So while running with 4GB may not be the problem it used to be, I can nonetheless see a pretty clear case that can be made for recommending at least 6GB.

I'll keep a close eye on stability and any potential EUEs and let you know if any crop up. Either way, I'll probably end up upgrading my RAM now that DDR3-1600 2x4GB kits can be had on the cheap.
I am interested trying one of my sandy rig... but need some help that Vmware thing it's been a while since I used that! I remember last year the newer version of vmware wasn't supporting 8 threads anymore... what about that issue.

Care to explain a bit the step you take to run vmware with the Linux FAH on the 860?
 

lowfat

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
9,237
Location
Grande Prairie, AB
Well if an i7 860 gets that kind of improvement I'll definitely be moving over to Linux for my SR-2s tomorrow.
 

chrisk

Folding Captain
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
7,542
Location
GTA, Ontario
The stampede back to linux begins.........

Now we need instructions again.....
Guys I have dug up the sticky we used to have on setting up Linuxrouter's vmware:
http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardwarecanucks-f-h-team/32050-how-vmware-bigadv-folding.htmlhttp://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardwarecanucks-f-h-team/

I am at work having lunch, so I have not tested yet, nor have I checked the download links (all blocked here at work anyways).

I'll try this weekend, unless someone else can give it a shot. I still have a 8-core compatible vmware installed in the folding rig. Hopefully I can simply get the client and cores updated and start right away.

Remember when trying this for PPD to not have other processes competing with it for resources. I had to use prifinity to make sure the vmx processes were set high, to keep PPD proper.

I never was able to use the vmware machine config (the idle command) to get the priorities right.
 

Charloz24

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
262
Thanks Chrisk for bringing this up, but we need VMware image file containing the newest Fah client.
 

chrisk

Folding Captain
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
7,542
Location
GTA, Ontario
Thanks Chrisk for bringing this up, but we need VMware image file containing the newest Fah client.
Yup this was the best I could do from work. I am hoping that Linuxrouter will have an updated image, so I can pop in a proper link.

If anyone can access the links from where they are, and find an updated client or can find a post that shows how to update the client in the image, let me know asap so I can get a proper link!!! :thumb:
 

Dead Things

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
2,053
Location
Centre of the Universe
I don't remember much about Linuxrouter's image, but couldn't you run ordinary terminal commands in it? So all you would have to do is...

Code:
wget http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandegroup/folding/release/FAH6.34-Linux64.tgz
tar xzf FAH6.34-Linux64.tgz
chmod +x fah6
Then, if you run into the same A5 download error I ran into...

Code:
wget http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5960242/FahCore_a5.exe
chmod +x FahCore_a5.exe
So Bob, provided the image accepts regular terminal codes, should thereafter be your uncle.
 

lowfat

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
9,237
Location
Grande Prairie, AB
I don't remember much about Linuxrouter's image, but couldn't you run ordinary terminal commands in it? So all you would have to do is...

Code:
wget http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandegroup/folding/release/FAH6.34-Linux64.tgz
tar xzf FAH6.34-Linux64.tgz
chmod +x fah6
Then, if you run into the same A5 download error I ran into...

Code:
wget http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5960242/FahCore_a5.exe
chmod +x FahCore_a5.exe
So Bob, provided the image accepts regular terminal codes, should thereafter be your uncle.

Why thank you kind sir. I would have been PM'ing you for these commands later today anyways. So I am assuming these commands just install the program. Then how do I go about running it?
 
Error 403 Daily Limit Exceeded. The quota will be reset at midnight Pacific Time (PT). You may monitor your quota usage and adjust limits in the API Console: https://console.developers.google.com/apis/api/youtube.googleapis.com/quotas?project=345236864347 : dailyLimitExceeded

Twitter

Top