What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Bios Update Problem

Sushi Warrior

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 4, 2009
Messages
1,605
Location
Grimsby, Ontario
Uh oh. You sure it's frozen? If so you may have some major problems. I have never encountered this error before but from what I understand anything interrupting a BIOS update is very, very bad at best.
 

casper222

Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
14
Location
Waterloo, Ontario
The board does have dual Bios. I haven't done a thing with it since it froze this morning during the flash. Been in this state now for over 4 hours.
Suggestions?
Reset and see what happens?
 

Perineum

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
4,035
Location
Surrey, B.C.
As I said in the other thread, yeah, it's definately locked.

Then, if the computer won't restart do this:

unplug it from the wall and take out the battery on the motherboard

... or do a BIOS reset using the jumper, if you know how, etc etc.
 

Sushi Warrior

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 4, 2009
Messages
1,605
Location
Grimsby, Ontario
Doesn't a BIOS update like, kill the BIOS? As in mess up all the important stuff, not just settings? Think you may have to rely on just the second BIOS.
 

casper222

Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
14
Location
Waterloo, Ontario
Reset went okay, it appears the freeze happened before anything was written to the bios. Still F1 Bios. boots to Win 7 no problems. Stability is the same as before trying bios flash. Will try flashing again later tonight. is there another tool to use other than Qflash?
 

Perineum

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
4,035
Location
Surrey, B.C.
Asus ones allow you to run AsusUpdate right from the desktop. Not sure about Gigabyte boards.

Promise me you'll try unlocking that X2 550 after you figure this all out!
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top