What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Biostar TF7050 M2 problem

Harry_59

Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
7
Hiya folks!!!

I have...

AMD athlon 64 X2 4800+
Seagate Barracuda 7200 500GB
BFG 8800GT OC512MB
Antec Sonata III Case w/ 500w PSU
Corsair XMS2 twin 2x2048-6400c4 2GB ram
Samsung SH-S203B
Win XP Home SP2
Biostar TF7050 M2

The Problem...
When first assembled, the rig worked great, posted, booted and I loaded the OPsys and all my goodies and played until 4 am woo hoo!!!

The next day, when I het the power switch, the rig clicked on and then immediately clicked off, did not even got to post. Hit the power button (front of case) again and it booted right up.

The next day, the same thing but it did not boot up with the second power button press, or the thrid, or the forth... I opended the case and tried the power button on the MOBO and nothing. Depressing both the power button and the reset button at the same time on the MOBO, started the sytem and it did not click off. Shut the system down via the switch on the back of the PSU and tried the front panel switch again and it booted right up and worked fine, all temps registered fine.


The next day, same thing agian, this time I had to remove and reseat the BFG and the RAM and do the whole reset button/power button again and it worked. The system booted up and ran fine, all temps and voltages fine as well.

The time, same thing again but it took longer, funny thing is, if I tried to boot the system while warm, say a few minutes or and hour or 2 after shut it down, it would boot right up. The symptoms only occur at cold boot.

Today, it will just not post, boot or anything. I have stripped the sytem down to just the MOBO, no CPU or RAM, just power cables, and the system will start but the two diag leds first did not light then led2 lit up showing VGA error. When I add the CPU, the system just started clicking on then immediately off when the power button is pressed.

So as of now, I have a dead system ( I am on my older system now) and I do not know what to RMA, the board, the CPU or what???

Please advise and thanks for your time.

Cheers,
Harry Butterfield
 

SugarJ

Moderator
Staff member
Folding Team
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
7,130
Location
Langley, BC
Try swapping out your power supply, I just had a similar problem with my work rig with the same case/PSU. Turned out to be a bad capacitor in the PSU.

Good luck.
 

Harry_59

Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
7
Thanks guys!!!

I did not swap any thing between the rigs the other one is old... I think I can test the MOBO in my old rig though...

Cheers,
Harry
 

Harry_59

Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
7
3,0Charlie,

I did follow the 10 steps, funny, I am a chef at a rehab facility and they use 12 steps :), but to no avail.

Cheers,
Harry
 

Harry_59

Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
7
3.0charlie,

I have not swapped anything, the PSU will not power the new board as it is missing a 4 pin dongle that would hook into the slot with the main power cord. So, it looks like I will have to RMA the MOBO and the Case as it came with the PSU.

Harry
 

SugarJ

Moderator
Staff member
Folding Team
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
7,130
Location
Langley, BC
It might be worthwhile picking up a 20 to 24pin ATX dongle, then you could test all your parts with your old PSU. The $10 could be worth your time.
 

Harry_59

Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
7
Great idea!!! thanks!!! Off to go and get one today and will post the results.

Harry
 

Harry_59

Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
7
OK... tested the Biostar MOBO with the old PSU and the same thing, so that rules out the PSU in the Antec case. I am RMA'ing the Biostar MOBO for refund and getting a new MOBO today, probably a Gigabyte in the $100<price range. When the new one is installed I will update this thread. Thanks for all your help!!!

Harry
 
Top