What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

BSOD while playing COD4 3 times in a row

zlojack

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
2,038
Location
Toronto
I have been playing, overclocking and pretty much doing everything with my machine fine since I built it in early December.

But tonight I keep getting the blue screen and this message:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.256.1
Locale ID: 4105

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: 109
BCP1: A3A039D899BED576
BCP2: B3B7465EEC3B83E8
BCP3: FFFFF80002E140EF
BCP4: 0000000000000001
OS Version: 6_0_6000
Service Pack: 0_0
Product: 256_1

Files that help describe the problem:
C:\Windows\Minidump\Mini011708-01.dmp
C:\Users\Jack\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-40170-0.sysdata.xml
C:\Users\Jack\AppData\Local\Temp\WERAB8A.tmp.version.txt

I was running my usual overclock of 3.6 GHz at 1.46v RAM at 2.2 v 1066 FSB of 400 (9 multiplier)
System is in the sig.

I am running COD4 and TeamSpeak. I have been experimenting with lower voltages on the RAM, so I thought it was that as I had got it down to 2.1 v. But even after bumping it back up to 2.2, it still gives me the BSOD.

Any help/insight would be great!
 

3.0charlie

3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
9,910
Location
Bedford QC
Any new drivers installed lately?
CPU / NB temps?
Unstable rig lately?
What programs did you use to test stability?
 

Synth

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
687
Location
Ottawa-Hull
Kept getting similar problems with the Catalyst 7.12 drivers for my HD3870... Obviously, this isn't your problem (running an nVidia card) but I think the game has serious issues and requires patches.

I wouldn't stress too much thinking your hardware is failing if I was you.
 

zlojack

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
2,038
Location
Toronto
Any new drivers installed lately?
CPU / NB temps?
Unstable rig lately?
What programs did you use to test stability?
CPU runs around 38-43 idle and 60-65 load.

Well, it has been pretty stable and I had no problems recently. I am always fiddling with the settings in the bios, but I keep a stable profile backed up that has worked.

I tested with OCCT and it was great for 6 hours (this was a while back).
I suppose I should get Everest and Memtest going as well.

Did you try just clocking down a bit? That's quite a high 24/7 OC- perhaps a little silicon migration
I am thinking I'll have to downclock it a bit. Maybe 400x8 instead of 400x9

3.2 is still a decent oc for that processor.

Kept getting similar problems with the Catalyst 7.12 drivers for my HD3870... Obviously, this isn't your problem (running an nVidia card) but I think the game has serious issues and requires patches.

I wouldn't stress too much thinking your hardware is failing if I was you.
Well, the thing is, I ran OCCT and it crashes before 2 hours, so something isn't stable.


I will probably start re-testing with everything at stock.
 

Synth

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
687
Location
Ottawa-Hull
Well, the thing is, I ran OCCT and it crashes before 2 hours, so something isn't stable.

I will probably start re-testing with everything at stock.
Hmm, did the instability start when you added your second 4gig kit? Chances are, even if you set the vdimm to 2.2, with 8gigs of ram, the board might be undervolting the ram.

You could try gaming with upped vdimm or with 4gigs of ram instead of 8 to test stability.
 

zlojack

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
2,038
Location
Toronto
Hmm, did the instability start when you added your second 4gig kit? Chances are, even if you set the vdimm to 2.2, with 8gigs of ram, the board might be undervolting the ram.

You could try gaming with upped vdimm or with 4gigs of ram instead of 8 to test stability.
Funny you should mention that, as that's precisely what I intend to do.

Although from what I've read, the Maximus Formula actually overvolts by about 0.1 v.

I have had the 8GB kit in all along, so it's not a new thing.

Since I don't seem to be using the full 8GB as much as I thought, I am thinking about selling one of the kits and just going with 2x2GB, or selling both and going 4x1GB.

I was about to post a thread about that in the RAM sub-forum.
 

MpG

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
3,132
Location
Kitchener, ON
Crazy question: What video drivers are you using?

When I first installed FW169.25, I suddenly found that the 700 core clock on my card was consistently crashing COD4 within 5 minutes of playing. Lowered it to 685, never had another problem. It was a little strange, and I didn't investigate it in-depth, but you never know...
 
Error 403 Daily Limit Exceeded. The quota will be reset at midnight Pacific Time (PT). You may monitor your quota usage and adjust limits in the API Console: https://console.developers.google.com/apis/api/youtube.googleapis.com/quotas?project=345236864347 : dailyLimitExceeded

Latest posts

Twitter

Top