What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Buying a used CPU (Q9650)

Sevada

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 3, 2011
Messages
50
Hey guys. I am planning on buying a used CPU, the Q9650 for my home PC.

I just wanted to know, what would you pay attention to when buying it? And what kind of tests would you do on the seller's machine to determine the CPU is working properly.

I though maybe looking at the temps would be a good idea. Running prime95 would be a good idea but you need to run it for a few hours to get a good reading.

What are your thoughts?
 
Last edited:

enaberif

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
11,391
Location
Calgahree, AB
Hey guys. I am planning on buying a used CPU, the Q9650 for my home PC.

I just wanted to know, what would you pay attention to when buying it? And what kind of tests would you do on the seller's machine to determine the CPU is working properly.

I though maybe looking at the temps would be a good idea. Running prime95 would be a good idea but you need to run it for a few hours to get a good reading.

What are your thoughts?
A CPU either works or it doesn't. Temps mean squat.

If the system will boot with the CPU then buy it. And then just use it. :punk:
 

zsamz_

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
1,096
Location
laval Qc
A CPU either works or it doesn't. Temps mean squat.

If the system will boot with the CPU then buy it. And then just use it. :punk:

+1

and if you wanna see the oc potential look @ the vid
lower the vid better the cpu

coretemp will tell you the vid
 

Sevada

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 3, 2011
Messages
50
+1

and if you wanna see the oc potential look @ the vid
lower the vid better the cpu

coretemp will tell you the vid
Thank you guys for the quick replies. Just a few other questions.

- How much would you pay for a used Q9650? I got it for about 215 USD (170 euros).
- Does the Q9650 also have different version? Just like the Q6600 had B3 and G0.
 

enaberif

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
11,391
Location
Calgahree, AB
Thank you guys for the quick replies. Just a few other questions.

- How much would you pay for a used Q9650? I got it for about 215 USD (170 euros).
- Does the Q9650 also have different version? Just like the Q6600 had B3 and G0.
I say you paid to much as a q9550 is probably worth more towards 150ish tops and yes they as well had diff versions which performed better
 

zsamz_

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
1,096
Location
laval Qc
Thank you guys for the quick replies. Just a few other questions.

- How much would you pay for a used Q9650? I got it for about 215 USD (170 euros).
- Does the Q9650 also have different version? Just like the Q6600 had B3 and G0.

considering you can get an i7 for 150-200$ its too much

150 should be max price for a q9650

if you can find a cheap 9550 E0 your better off
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top