What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Can't enable DOCP - Won't boot

Caldezar

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 21, 2008
Messages
2,523
Location
Edmonton Area
Hey gang, having an odd issue that I'm unable to figure out. I just recently upgraded my CPU from a 3600 to a 5700X. I have an ASUS TUF Gaming X570 MB and 32GB (2x16) of DDR4/3600. BIOS is fully updated and I've never had any noticeable issues with the system. I've never OC'd the system, and I have so far run everything at default as I'm just too busy to tweak these days.

After installing the new CPU and confirming everything runs fine, I enabled DOCP in the BIOS and only see one profile, and it matches my RAM so I enable it and reboot. System fails to post and then flips to the message prompting to go back in to BIOS and reset to default. I tried bumping the CPU voltage to 1.3 (default is 1.2) to see if that would help, but it doesn't. This is frustrating as the default RAM speed the system is sitting on is 2134. This definitely seems fishy, but my experience with tweaking RAM settings for Ryzen is almost non existent so I'm not even sure where to begin with manual settings, or why it wouldn't be booting with the DOCP profile. I've done some googling, but information on similar issues seems to be pretty outdated as everyone seems to have no issues with DOCP profiles lately. Digging for manual settings for RAM yields more results, but the advice ranges drastically and isn't all that helpful. Any input from a trusted community would be welcome.

MB: ASUS TUF Gaming X570-Plus
CPU: 5700x
RAM: 2x16GB DDR4 3600 GSkill Ripjaws V - CL16-19-19-39 1.35v

*EDIT* Images added
RAM.PNG CPU.PNG
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
25,086
Location
Moncton NB
Did you try bumping the RAM voltage up a notch or two? IIRC DOCP is enabling the ram profile (XMP 1 or 2). It's the RAM that's being pushed beyond stock/default so that's what might need a small boost.

If that doesn't work, try enabling it with only one stick installed to see if the board has an easier time figuring out the secondary timings and if that works then try introducing the second stick.

Aside from that.... you can manually set the major timings + mem voltage and try that. If it were me doing the manual settings I'd start loose (let's say CAS 18) to again let the board work out the secondary timings and then try CAS 16 if 18 boots fine.
 

Caldezar

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 21, 2008
Messages
2,523
Location
Edmonton Area
From what I can tell, the RAM profile looks like it includes a voltage bump for the RAM. I'll add pictures below.

I can try manually setting timings I suppose, although it should be an adventure as I haven't messed with Ryzen settings and there appears to be a ton of settings that I'm completely unfamiliar with.

PXL_20230113_231818215.jpgPXL_20230113_231929343.jpg
 

Dwayne

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
1,734
Location
Courtenay, BC
Try A2 B2 for your sticks. According to the manual they are the favoured config for 2 sticks of RAM. Also, oddly, 3600 (OC) does not show in the Zen 3 list of supported RAM speeds.

"AMD Ryzen™ 3rd Generation Processors - 4 x DIMM, max. 128GB, DDR4 4400(O.C.)/3466(O.C.)/3400(O.C.)/3 200(O.C.)/3000(O.C.)/2933(O.C.)/2800(O.C.)/2666/2400/2133 MHz, un-buffered memory

AMD Ryzen™ 2nd Generation Processors - 4 x DIMM, max. 128GB, DDR4 3600(O.C.)/3466(O.C.)/3400(O.C.)/3 200(O.C.)/3000(O.C.)/2933(O.C.)/2800(O.C.)/2666/2400/2133 MHz, un-buffered memory"
 
  • Like
Reactions: JD

gingerbee

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
10,162
Location
Orillia, Ontario
ya I have run into this a couple of times, My 5600x will not boot at all for 4 sticks no matter what the hell I do, the Ryzen memory controller can be very picky with some ram
 

clshades

Well-known member
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
6,384
Location
Big White Ski Resort
Hey gang, having an odd issue that I'm unable to figure out. I just recently upgraded my CPU from a 3600 to a 5700X. I have an ASUS TUF Gaming X570 MB and 32GB (2x16) of DDR4/3600. BIOS is fully updated and I've never had any noticeable issues with the system. I've never OC'd the system, and I have so far run everything at default as I'm just too busy to tweak these days.

After installing the new CPU and confirming everything runs fine, I enabled DOCP in the BIOS and only see one profile, and it matches my RAM so I enable it and reboot. System fails to post and then flips to the message prompting to go back in to BIOS and reset to default. I tried bumping the CPU voltage to 1.3 (default is 1.2) to see if that would help, but it doesn't. This is frustrating as the default RAM speed the system is sitting on is 2134. This definitely seems fishy, but my experience with tweaking RAM settings for Ryzen is almost non existent so I'm not even sure where to begin with manual settings, or why it wouldn't be booting with the DOCP profile. I've done some googling, but information on similar issues seems to be pretty outdated as everyone seems to have no issues with DOCP profiles lately. Digging for manual settings for RAM yields more results, but the advice ranges drastically and isn't all that helpful. Any input from a trusted community would be welcome.

MB: ASUS TUF Gaming X570-Plus
CPU: 5700x
RAM: 2x16GB DDR4 3600 GSkill Ripjaws V - CL16-19-19-39 1.35v

*EDIT* Images added
View attachment 35940 View attachment 35941

Had the exact same problem on the exact same motherboard. You just need to manually set the ram to 3600. The DOCP doesn't always work. When you do get it to work you might experience random resets on the memory.which is even more annoying.
 

Latest posts

Top