What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

ClockTuner for Ryzen (CTR) - Results

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
10,010
Location
Toronto, ON
@Sagath what did it rate your chip as? I have a pretty poor chip I guess (assuming Bronze is the worst), so my undervolt vs overclock starting points have a pretty small delta :(

Code:
***ClockTuner for Ryzen 1.0s by 1usmus***
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor (870F10)
Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. X570 AORUS XTREME
BIOS ver. F22 SMU ver. 46.62.00
DRAM speed 3600 MHz
10/01/2020 13:26:42

Diagnostic results:
Energy efficient: 3.44
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor - Bronze sample
Recomended values for Overclocking:
Reference frequency: 4150 MHz
Reference voltage: 1250 mV
Recomended values for Undervoolt:
Reference frequency: 3950 MHz
Reference voltage: 1150 mV

All the more reason to upgrade to a 5900X I guess! ;)
 

Sagath

Moderator
Staff member
Folding Team
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
4,753
Location
Edmonton, AB
Gold, or Platinum? I forget, definitely Gold though. Guess I finally got lucky. Edit: The screenshot in post#10 was before I turned on LLC3, and looks like without LLC It was hitting "Gold" at 1110mV. I do remember that my Diagnostic results came back at 1080mV @ 4050. Energy rating was 3.7?

Hoping to try for a max OC tonight.

Edit: Beta 3 will be released today. Appears to have some fixes/upgrades for the 3500/3500x and 3900x. Hopefully it lets me boost this thing up to insanity.
 
Last edited:

Sagath

Moderator
Staff member
Folding Team
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
4,753
Location
Edmonton, AB
Finally got to sit down and run it on beta 3. Seems to have fixed the OC stability.

It kicked me out though as I hit 'CPU EDC' limit @200 when it was testing. Thermals are still well under control (<60c), CPU PPT is at 110w...Should I increase it and try again? I tried googling for what a safe limit is on Zen 2, but couldn't.
 

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
10,010
Location
Toronto, ON
It kicked me out though as I hit 'CPU EDC' limit @200 when it was testing. Thermals are still well under control (<60c), CPU PPT is at 110w...Should I increase it and try again? I tried googling for what a safe limit is on Zen 2, but couldn't.
I think the "limit" is whatever your board supports?

I tried bumping the reference voltage to 1.3 instead since my chip is so poor, but that doesn't seem to result in usable settings as the final CB20 test crashed. If I edit the profile and bump it up to 1.325, CB20 completes at least (manually).
 

Sagath

Moderator
Staff member
Folding Team
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
4,753
Location
Edmonton, AB
Large 1.1 revision due out on the 17th. 1usmus appears to have made quite a few changes. Be interesting to see what happens with it.
 

Bond007

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
5,811
Location
Nova Scotia
Large 1.1 revision due out on the 17th. 1usmus appears to have made quite a few changes. Be interesting to see what happens with it.
1.1 released. Curious to see if it changes anything

 

Sagath

Moderator
Staff member
Folding Team
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
4,753
Location
Edmonton, AB
1.1 released. Curious to see if it changes anything


I'm on 1.1 b4. Funny enough, it lowered me down from GOLD to SILVER quality chip. TBH based on other results I'm seeing, that seems more accurate.

I wasnt comfortable raising the EDC above 200A, since I couldnt find much info out there about the max safe limit of the spec, so 1250mV is off the table until I can find more info about cpu/power delivery limitations.

I'm at work so no screen shot, but off memory its at 1150mV with the following core speeds;
4225
4200
4150
4200

Built in Bench compared to post #15 puts me at the same power draw (~120) and scoring a hair above 7300 now. All in all, an improvement over previous version for this guy.
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top