What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Completely new and Crushed i7 2600k

Status
Not open for further replies.

bigFOIG

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 4, 2011
Messages
410
Location
Vancouver, B.C.
So I was supposed to go to a friends house and put together the computer parts he bought. Completely new build. 2 hours before I was supposed to be at his house, he texts me "my brother raged and broke my mobo and cpu"

Okay... I thought I was building it for you! Guess they got impatient. Told him to send me some pics and here they are. Any chance of using this? :p Mobo is probably fine.

 
Last edited:

bissa

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 17, 2009
Messages
1,172
Location
Kelowna BC
well if it was broken while in the packaging, you *might* be able to get it replaced by saying that it arrived from transit like that. but it really depends on how badly the motherboard has been broken. if they were in packaging and he hit it or something. chances are the CPU is fine, but the MoBo is possibly broken. pictures will be a good reference to see what the damage is.
 

bkh2

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 19, 2009
Messages
261
Location
Coquitlam, BC
I am extremely skeptical that those parts are functional. How is it even possible to inflict that kind of damage while trying to put a CPU in a socket? Chances are, you're going to need to get it replaced.
 

bissa

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 17, 2009
Messages
1,172
Location
Kelowna BC
"my brother raged and broke my mobo and cpu"
my guess is it was not in an attempt to put it together. it looks almost like he took something heavy to it.
 

supaflyx3

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
3,031
Location
Langley, BC
It looks like someone took a hammer to the CPU.. I hope his bro will enjoy re-embursing him :p
 

zsamz_

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
1,096
Location
laval Qc
try to get rma ..
if not it can be fixed
you will need identical resistors
but that damage can't be caused with it inside socket
 

Soultribunal

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
8,282
Location
Mississauga
I wouldn't even bother with either one regardless. At this point if say, something is messed up on the board that you can't physically see, then you could kill a good chip putting it in there too.

As for that CPU, yeah, wouldn't even bother.

ST
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Error 403 Daily Limit Exceeded. The quota will be reset at midnight Pacific Time (PT). You may monitor your quota usage and adjust limits in the API Console: https://console.developers.google.com/apis/api/youtube.googleapis.com/quotas?project=345236864347 : dailyLimitExceeded

Twitter

Top