What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Computer Loading Error [Important]

MastaChief11

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2012
Messages
8
Today I booted up my computer to find that some programs didn't want to open or load. Usually, XFast USB loads at start but when I log in, it is stuck at a certain spot. Google Chrome won't open either, I just a a loading circle for 2 seconds and then it stops. Malwarebytes will occasionally pop up with this error: "[OpenEvent] Failed to perform desired action. Error Code: 2". I did an avast virus scan, but that didn't detect anything. Malwarebytes didn't open, so I did a System Restore to a few days ago, but that didn't help either. If you need my computer specs, I could give them to you, but I'm not sure that would help. Rebooting my computer didn't do a thing, I still have the same issues. Help is greatly appreciated.
 

NyteOwl

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
871
Location
Nova Scotia
Make sure all cards, memory and cables are properly seated. Then next question: what did you install or update/upgrade recently?
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,943
Location
Moncton NB
If malwarebytes won't run, and browsers won't open, more than likely you've got a virus. You can do the research to find a tool which will attempt to fix it under safe mode (or better yet a stand-alone bootable iso), pick a much older restore point, do a complete fresh install, or pay somebody to clean it up for you. That's about all that will work at this point.
 

MastaChief11

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2012
Messages
8
Make sure all cards, memory and cables are properly seated. Then next question: what did you install or update/upgrade recently?
I haven't installed or upgraded anything recently. Last night, I was using my computer and it worked fine, but this morning it's been having issues.
 

rfglass

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 30, 2012
Messages
167
Location
Port Elgin Grey/Bruce
I have had some luck running Mbam in safe mode in infected pc's but 50/50 chance it will run,but if it does it should get rid of any nasty virus
 

Shadowmeph

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 3, 2007
Messages
4,113
I would just uninstall malwarebytes then reinstall it that is what I did way back when it wouldn't run. actually there is a link a couple of posts above you should check out.
 
Top