What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Corsair VX550 Enough?

BALISTX

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
2,042
Location
Ottawa, ON
A friend of mine's PSU died on him. He has the following system:

AMD Athlon 5000 BE @ 3.2GHz
AC Freezer 64 Pro
Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe
OCZ NVIDIA SLI Ready XTC 4GB PC-6400
EVGA 9600GT in SLI
250GB Seagate Barracuda SATA
LG 18X DVD Burner
Antec 900 Case with 3x120mm and 1x200mm fan.

He wants to know if a Corsair VX550 will be enough to run this?
 

CMetaphor

Quadfather
Joined
May 5, 2007
Messages
5,081
Location
Montreal, Canada
In a word.... no. At stock settings (no OC) and only one 9600 i'd say he'd be fine. But with an OC to 3.2 and two 9600's in SLI he'll need something beefier. The 620HX could work as a bare minimum replacement but I'd personally go for something a lil higher than that so the power supply never goes above 70-80% load. Just my two cents.
 

Leclerc

Well-known member
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
105
Location
Rouyn-Noranda (Qc.)
CMetaphor is right. With an OC cpu, SLI and 4gb of ram, a 550w, even if it's a really good psu, will be to short. The HX620W will be better and if you can get it used from 3.0charlie it will probably be a really good deal with the advantage it is modular. The VX650W will be good to and the VX750W a better choice leaving enough place for upgrade.
 

burebista

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 14, 2007
Messages
594
Location
Romania
In a word.... no. At stock settings (no OC) and only one 9600 i'd say he'd be fine. But with an OC to 3.2 and two 9600's in SLI he'll need something beefier.
5A/card and you need something beefier than an Corsair VX550? You have 41A on +12V. My God, you can power easily a pair of HD4850 with that PSU.
 

calvary1980

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
73
Location
Toronto, ON
you will be more than fine. here are some examples of what the 450VX can power.

DFI DK T2RS// Intel [email protected]// 2x2gb Corsair DHX // Nvidia Gainward 8800GT 512mb dual-slot//Raid 0 2x250GB WD 2500YS // Creative Audigy 7.1/24biti // Corsair 450VX // Antec SLK3000B -> All on Vista x64
Q6600 @ 3.2ghz w/ Tuniq Tower 120 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L |
2gb Super Talent PC6400 | BFG 8800GT OC 512mb (740/1854/1980) w/ Accelero S1 Turbo |
Corsair 450VX PSU | Cooler Master Elite 330 Case | Windows XP Pro | 3dMark06 14,716
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0 Ghz 45nm Wolfsdale Evga Nvidia 8800GT 512mb GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L Rev. 2.0 LGA775 Corsair DDR2 2 GB Ram 4-4-4-12 Coolermaster 690 Case Corsair 450VX PSU Samsung 500 GB Spinpoint hard drive Dual layer Dvd Burner Vista Ultimate
E4600 Gigabyte P35-DS3L 4Gb G.Skill PC6400
eVGA 9800GTX Corsair 450VX Scythe Ninja GPU: Accelero S1, Custom unisink set
- Christine
 

khelben1979

Active member
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
41
Location
Sweden
If noise is something that matters to you. You should go up higher in watts.

I would recommend the CorsairTX at 750W. I know it's a bit exaggerated, but... for future upgrades and especially if you like to run graphic cards in S.L.I, buying a high rated powersupply is nice and it keeps the noise level down too.

I don't know if it's smarter to buy an CorsairTX at 750W than the CorsairTX at 650W if one looks at the electricity bill, I'm uncertain, but I think that getting a high rated powersupply would be bad if the power requirement isn't needed, especially since most powersupplys(according to DriverHeaven) isn't very effective at low power consumption levels.

My CorsairTX at 650W is at most efficient at 40-50% of maximum load on the powersupply. The efficiency here is at 84-85%.
 

Phobia

Well-known member
Joined
May 22, 2008
Messages
1,162
Location
Richmond, BC
I'd get a PSU about 700W. ocz gamexstream 700W is a solid psu. I've had 1 for a year, and it runs fine, other than me accidentally spilling cooling fluid on it while it was running :p It still works even after that.

cavalry, those PCs only have 1 gpu... he needs more power. If the psu goes, it could take many other parts with it.. not worth it.
 

calvary1980

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
73
Location
Toronto, ON
the failure rate of Corsair Power Supplies have to be the lowest. 550VX has 41 Amps on the 12v rail it's built like a tank it has Chemicon primary and secondaries it's not going anywhere. you of all people should appreciate it they are in your power supply :)

- Christine
 
Last edited:

Latest posts

Twitter

Top