What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

does q8300 bottleneck with gtx 60 ti ?

ahmaden

Banned
Joined
Dec 26, 2011
Messages
15
hi guys i want to buy gtx 560 ti but i'm considering if this card can't match with my cpu and cpu bottleneck happening...
my cpu is q8300 . stock clock is 2.5 ghz . oc'ed to 2.8 ghz . does this cpu can perform as well for gpu ?

here is my specifications :
motherboard : gigabyte ep45-tud3lr (p45 chipset )
cpu : intel core 2 quad q8300 2.5 ghz (oc'ed to 2.8 ghz)
hard drive : seagate 500 g/B 7200 rpm
ram : 3*2 gb module (6.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 ) 1333mhz
 
Last edited:

Adzsask

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
796
Location
SK
When I used to run a Q9400, I found it was bottlenecking a GTX 275, and I had it overclocked to 3.8 so I can comfortably say that yes, it is bottlenecking your GPU.
 

enaberif

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
11,391
Location
Calgahree, AB
hi guys i want to buy gtx 560 ti but i'm considering if this card can't match with my cpu and cpu bottleneck happening...
my cpu is q8300 . stock clock is 2.5 ghz . oc'ed to 2.8 ghz . does this cpu can perform as well for gpu ?

here is my specifications :
motherboard : gigabyte ep45-tud3lr (p45 chipset )
cpu : intel core 2 quad q8300 2.5 ghz (oc'ed to 2.8 ghz)
hard drive : seagate 500 g/B 7200 rpm
ram : 3*2 gb module (6.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 ) 1333mhz
Screen size and resolution will determine this more.
 

jumpload

Banned
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
Messages
85
agreed.
really depends on your settings, if you really know how to tweak your video card driver and game settings well you know.
 

Shadowmeph

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 3, 2007
Messages
4,073
I would think that it would have to do with the demand of the running application. Like newer game would use more graphics then cpu then you have to factor in if you are playing multi or single player because of possible online lagging .
I could never figure out how they figure that a duo or quad core that is running over 2.5 ghz could bottle neck any Graphics card unless the software was cpu intensive.
I am not saying yes or no But logically thinking you would think no for the most part
.
 
Last edited:

sneakynoob

Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2012
Messages
11
YES! I have the same problem. I have a q6600 @ 3ghz and a evga 560 ti, My 560 ti isn't getting the best perfomance out of it. You'll need at least a cpu speed of 3.4 GHz to run the card at full speed
 

siegfx

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 14, 2011
Messages
58
Location
Western Australia
I had a Q9500 before, with dual GTX 470, with League of legend, I had around 130 fps, and since I upgraded to 2600k and 3930k, I am getting around 380fps.
So I can safely say that It was bottlenecking the gpus

I'm pretty sure a Q8300 would bottleneck a 560ti if u try to run it on max performance
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top