What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

dual boot how to ?

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,005
Location
Toronto, ON
Installing XP after Vista is a PITA! Quite time consuming for me at least. Ran in to a lot of issues, which could of been fixed if I was willing to format both drives clean, but I didn't want that.

Definitely install XP before Vista. Then everything goes nice and smooth. Vista will detect XP and know what to do with it. You don't have to run the Vista install from within XP, and I wouldn't do that myself. I always boot from the CD/DVD when installing OSes.
 

BMWDriver

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
56
Location
Montreal
Lot easier installing Linux (Ubuntu or Suse), it creates a boot selection launcher called GRUB. You have to configure it through Linux though.
 

mitchel

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Messages
6
Ok but will I get any selection when starting window a bit like Mac and Xp on same HD.
So if I get it right I can use two HD:
One with the two OS and the other one for both XP and Vista files of course both of the HD partionned?
 

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,005
Location
Toronto, ON
I think it would be easier if you kept XP on one drive and Vista on the other. Seems more practical that way.

Otherwise keep all your files on one drive and partition the other in half to have XP and Vista.

No need to be partitioning both drives.

Install XP first and then Vista. Vista's bootloader will take over and give you a selection screen saying Windows Vista and Windows Legacy or something like that. Legacy being XP.
 

mitchel

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Messages
6
Ok I see but is there a way to install Xp (and all the music...) on one Hd and Vista on the other and still get a Boot Choice when starting my comp?
Btw thanks for fast answers
 

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,005
Location
Toronto, ON
Yeah...

As long as XP is installed first and Vista second. Just make sure you pick the right drive during the installation.
 

mitchel

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2007
Messages
6
Hum I'm sorry I didn't understand what you just said.
You mean I can have two HD for XP and Vista and put them on separate HD and still get the boot choice at startup?
Need any setting like Master,slave? ...
Sorry for my ignorance :biggrin:
 

francois methot

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 6, 2007
Messages
123
Location
Ottawa, ON
This is how I did triple boot:

I first installed the oldest OS; In my case is XP PRO32 on only 20 GB of disk space (Primary Partition). This drive is reserved only for OS. It is easier to defrag and faster.
Keep the remaining space Unalocated for future OS.
Then I put all my applications, Paging Files etc...on other disk drive.

Later, I installed XP PRO 64 on 20 GB on the OS drive (Logical Drive). I used the other drives reserved for apps and Paging as well...

Then I installed VISTA 64 on the remaining OS drive (Primary Partition). I still use the other drives for apps and Paging Files.

You have to remember to tell Windows to install on a small portion of the drive each time. When you install application, you have to change the path of the installation to keep the C drive for OS only.

Windows will automaticaly detect dual or triple boot.

I never had problems.
 
Last edited:

Twitter

Top