What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Dual Channel DDR3 RAM

AmuseMe

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 26, 2009
Messages
1,631
Age
27
Location
Saskatoon, SK
I was wondering what a good choice of DDR3 RAM would be for a ASUS Rampage Extreme. It's a DDR3 Dual Channel board - 1066MHz, 1333MHz, 1600MHz, 1800MHz(OC), 2000MHz(OC).

Running a Q9550 (lapped to perfection :thumb:), 750W Silencer, and a 4870X2.

What would be a good choice of RAM to get?

Im thinkin' NCIX.com - Buy OCZ OCZ3RPR16004GK Reaper 4GB 2X2GB DDR3-1600 CL7-7-7-24 240PIN DIMM Dual Channel Memory Kit - OCZ3RPR16004GK In Canada.
or
NCIX.com - Buy Mushkin XP3-12800 4GB 2X2GB DDR3-1600 CL7-7-6-18 240PIN DIMM Dual Channel Memory Kit - 996601 In Canada.
 
Last edited:

krazyups

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
279
Location
McGregor, Ontario
The reapers are good, as are pretty much any kits from Mushkin or G.Skill or you could pick up some Dominators. If you're not going to be aiming for some ridiculous clocks, than any flavour of RAM will serve you well.

Although the timings on those are quite good, especially for the price.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,860
Location
Moncton NB
When I looked around for my latest build, it was basically the same price for a 3X2G kit as it was for a 2X2G kit. I bought a 3 pack, so now I've got a spare if one of my sticks goes south.
 

altruist

New member
Joined
Dec 1, 2008
Messages
4
Take the Mushkin.

My experience with OCZ, ram tends to require more voltage than is listed.

Mushkin? Ram tends to require less voltage that is listed.

(Runs cooler, consumes less power)

Which do you prefer?
 

clone63

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 17, 2009
Messages
669
Location
Bellehole
When I looked around for my latest build, it was basically the same price for a 3X2G kit as it was for a 2X2G kit. I bought a 3 pack, so now I've got a spare if one of my sticks goes south.
I probably would not have thought of that, clever stuff.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2008
Messages
265
Location
Newfoundland
I have the same board and I am using the Mushkin. I am using an E8400 @3.6GHZ and the ram is running at it's stock speed/timing's just fine ( I havent tried to over clock the ram yet but I will)
 

zsamz_

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
1,096
Location
laval Qc
both are good i think
but i hope you pricematched @ newegg.ca cause its much cheaper there ;)
 

zsamz_

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
1,096
Location
laval Qc
gl with your mushkins
mine were deffective couldnt run stock settings :angry2:
man mushkin been pissin me of in the last 2 years
i been the temporary owner of 3 deffective sets makes me wonder if they even chek them sometimes
no more mushkin for me
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top