What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

E8400 and asus p5q-e does not start

marse

New member
Joined
Oct 1, 2009
Messages
4
Hello everyone, my problem is that my friends computer doesn't start at all. All it does is when started from power button (chassic front panel u know :biggrin: ) the fans start to roll, but nothing else is happening, no picture on screen, no beeping from motherboard just nothing! And before that it did go to windows and my friend overclocked the cpu with stock cooler (3.5ghz). Already reseted bios two times and it didn't work. Is there anything else to do anymore or is that cpu gone?
Specs of the computer:
cpu Intel E8400
gpu sapphire 4650
ram 4gb kingston hyperx 1066
psu antec earthwatts 500w (antec sonata 3)
and some old sata hdd propably seagate 320gb

Thanks for all help for noobie :help: :doh:
 

marse

New member
Joined
Oct 1, 2009
Messages
4
Forgot to mention that with those over clock settings it did go windows but then all "fade to black" :blarg: Is it possible that cpu have burned @ 3.5Ghz? it doesn't sound huge clocks to me, becase my E6600 with stock cooler vent to 3.2ghz stable and everytime it have over warmed it have started after 10min cooling time (even with no cooler) :whistle: Just asking those things cause I get to my friend at 6pm and would be nice to know already that someone could say that it's impossible that cpu has burned cause it's the most expensive part in that computer.
 
Last edited:

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,899
Location
Moncton NB
I doubt it would be the cpu, but that would depend on the settings.

Do you have another psu you can try?
 

marse

New member
Joined
Oct 1, 2009
Messages
4
I dunno, he have old amd computer, but that psu doesn't fit intel or does it? I'm quite sure that it have no 20+4 pin connector, only 20pin. But I maybe can take my own with me but is it any matter that is the psu atx v2.0 or 2.2? And that computer is quite new. Settings were 9x395 and voltage @auto.
 

enaberif

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
11,391
Location
Calgahree, AB
I dunno, he have old amd computer, but that psu doesn't fit intel or does it? I'm quite sure that it have no 20+4 pin connector, only 20pin. But I maybe can take my own with me but is it any matter that is the psu atx v2.0 or 2.2? And that computer is quite new. Settings were 9x395 and voltage @auto.
voltage at auto?

urgh.. scary.

Hope nothing got wrecked.

I say do a full cmos reset and new psu.
 

Dr_BenD_over

Fallen Folder
Joined
Jul 29, 2008
Messages
2,398
Location
Nova Scotia
Unplug it, remove the CMOS battery and wait about 10minutes. Then put the battery back in and plug it in. The fans will most likely start then stop when you hit the power button, give it a minute and it should boot.
 

passingthrough

New member
Joined
Nov 19, 2007
Messages
4
I had the same problem and I did a number of things which you may wnat ot try out to see if that will work.

Take a standard eraser (like the one used in class) and rub the eraser on the gold pins of your memory modules. This is to clear them of any static energy.
You can try interchanging the modules.
What worked for me was that I used the eraser method on the GPU pins and it worked.

Try it out and let us know if they help. Good luck!
 

martin_metal_88

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
4,152
Location
Quebec City
I don't think that the CPU is dead, we have see some get really hard treatment. Normal time I would say that...dead mobo just died on OC. Try to look at any visible mosfet (is that the good word? ) or capacitor on the board to see if none have burned or busted. Enaberif is also right. Most of the time Cmos can do a pretty good job XD take us up to date with the issue;)

Ask for more.
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top