What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Folding Through A VPN??

Soultribunal

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
8,282
Location
Mississauga
Hey everyone, my work computers are all online via a VPN (Virtual Private Network).
Is there a way to get them to fold as well? I figured since I'm not here for 14 hours a day, they could be doing something constructive for the team.

All systems are Optiplex 755 E8400 series Desktops.
Computing power!!!

ST
 

3.0charlie

3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
9,911
Location
Bedford QC
It's only a matter of installing BOINC on all of them, and making sure they all have access to the 'net. Simple as that. How many are you talking about?
 

Soultribunal

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
8,282
Location
Mississauga
It's only a matter of installing BOINC on all of them, and making sure they all have access to the 'net. Simple as that. How many are you talking about?

Okay, I'll attempt it with one tommorow and see what happens.

The Tally here is,

Dell Optiplex 755 8400 Series x 20

ST

*** EDIT , Add 9 Optiplex 620's - Prescott 90nm 3.4 gHz Single Core P4's with HT.
 
Last edited:

3.0charlie

3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
9,911
Location
Bedford QC
Whoa. With BOINC, we'll break the Top 5 with your Farm. You've installed BOINC before? Download, create your account linking the HWC Team and crunch for [email protected]. Relatively easy, much more stable that [email protected].

Those will be a great addition to the Team!
 

LCB001

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
1,732
Location
Aylmer QC.
If you decide to fold using the [email protected] software for your work computers you can d/l the software here; [email protected]. Boinc is a manager application that lets you control which projects you want to crunch for, [email protected] is separate and cannot be run through Boinc. A lot of the HWC Folding Team like to use [email protected] for their GPU's and crunch with [email protected] on their CPU's. [email protected] is alot easier to set up and is more of a set and forget application. If you need any help just shout...
 

Soultribunal

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
8,282
Location
Mississauga
Will do, I'll try loading it onto a computer at work tommorow and see what happens.
If it doesn't interfere with any of our corporate software packages, I'll start the mass loading.

Why now right? They just idle all night anyways...

ST
 

3.0charlie

3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
9,911
Location
Bedford QC
You can configure BOINC to use a certain % of the CPU. In order to not disrupt your corporate software, choose 75% at first; you can always increase more later.
 

Soultribunal

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
8,282
Location
Mississauga
Okay CPU [email protected] worked flawlessly on Test Desktop.
So I know it won't bug any of the other software onboard this system.
However, GPU [email protected] failed at random spots,

The Log stated;

NAS detected on GPU

And then it would re-start the process.

The GPU (according to the Computer)
is a ATI Radeon 3470 @ 256MEG.

Any Ideas?

Thanks!
ST
 

3.0charlie

3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
9,911
Location
Bedford QC
The GPU Client is asking too much of the video card. I would not use that.

But why use the [email protected] CPU Client? Use BOINC, it will be much more efficient, and easier to manage.
 

Soultribunal

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
8,282
Location
Mississauga
Charlie, that was my fault I forgot that that was the one you guys had all said to install.
I will attempt that today at some point and make sure it works.

Fair enough on the GPU, I figured they had those in there too so I'd attempt to double work all the Workstations!

Damn you Dell!!!


ST
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top