What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Fresh rig windows 10 install freezes during startup

koppi999

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2019
Messages
8
I just built a brand new pc.

i7 9700k
corsair 3000mhz cl15 2x8gb
msi gtx 1080 gaming 8g x
FD design define s
MSI MPG Z390 Gaming pro carbon ac
2x FD included fans, 1x noctua nf a14 fan
noctua nh d15 2xnfa15 fans
seasonic prime ultra titanium 750w
wd black 2tb, some old samsung 1,5tb
crucial mx500 1tb

When booting up, the usual running white circle comes up which would result in the beginning of the windows install but no: nothing. After 2 maybe 3 seconds the circle freezes. Right after that the

2 cpu fans and the 3 system fans go to max rpm and that's it, nothing happens.

BIOS on default settings
will try updating it to newer bios

Tried 2 different 2.0 usb ports so far.

On the board the ez debug leds dont light up so in theory every component works fine.

Tried another 16gb (single channel) corsair ram too, same results.

The new wd black 2tb drive plugged in, in bios it doesn't show up -> disconnected it
I haven't plugged the samsung hdd in yet.
So both HDDs are disconnected, only the SSD is plugged in.

I tried every single combination of legacy-uefi / uefi ; using a windows7 dvd (only allowed legacy)
I used 2 different windows 10 isos.

Both the pendrive and the dvd works fine, tested it on laptop.

Made a W10 mbr bootable pendrive in rufus also same result, BUT with above the loading white circle there was the windows logo. (it wasn't there so far)

On 3 occasions, once uefi+legacy with the windows7 dvd, once legacy+uefi with the pendrive(iso#1), and once also legacy+uefi with the same pendrive but with the other w10 iso I didn't get to the loading dots but got an error message saying it can't boot in bios/legacy mode etc (see pic)
Based on this I would assume that the problem is with uefi(?)

I might make a win7 uefi and mbr pendrive too, see if that works...

One more thing: I grabbed out the gpu, see if it makes a difference, plugged the hdmi cable in the mobo hdmi slot: nothing on the screen. Maybe the cpu causes all this?

Thank you so much for any help!

20190814_135022.jpg
 
Last edited:

Sagath

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
4,032
Location
Edmonton, AB
Is the HSF mounted properly? This kinda seems like an instant temperature lock from a bad HSF mount, from my experience.

if it's not that, the other option is to try and boot a Linux build, and see what happens perhaps.
 

Shadowmeph

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 3, 2007
Messages
4,122
like said above also check memory is install all the way even the timings might have to be set manually to the proper settings instead of using auto
 

koppi999

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2019
Messages
8
Is the HSF mounted properly? This kinda seems like an instant temperature lock from a bad HSF mount, from my experience.

if it's not that, the other option is to try and boot a Linux build, and see what happens perhaps.
CPU's highest temp was 45 °C
System's highest temp was like 40 °C

Tried Ubuntu 18.04.3 LTS with Rufus3.6p on my SanDisk Extreme Go USB 3.1 64GB /SDCZ800-064G-G46 pendrive.
Made 'MBR with UEFI or BIOS' settings in rufus as well as a 'GPT with UEFI(not CSM)'. In both cases, I tried UEFI and UEFI+Legacy settings in the BIOS.
On all occasions I got this error message after selecting 'install ubuntu'. (See pic)
After the error message I got a purple screen with a keyboard logo on the left and a human in a circle next to it. This purple things was happening only for a mere second. After that this purple screen disappeared and nothing happened. One notable change though: no fan speeding up, everything stayed normal, just nothing happened.

Oh, and I didn't mount the whole thing into the case: I just can't mount one of the two spring screws on the cpu cooler, So it's near the case with everything plugged in. I put many papers under it so it's high enough. As far as I know paper does not conduct electricity, so I didn't think this would be important.
The very first time I started up the pc, I intentionally left the soft plasticish protective stuff under the board (to protect the back of the board) which came with it in the box. After that I figured since plastic conducts electricity that might cause problems (especially that the manual warned me about ESD, even touch a metal object before touching the board (which I did))
The whole cooler is perfectly in the right place, just one of the spring screws is not fastened.
I didn't think this could be important (especially with good temps), but on second thought maybe it is after ESD this ESD that.
20190816_132249.jpg
 
Last edited:

koppi999

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2019
Messages
8
like said above also check memory is install all the way even the timings might have to be set manually to the proper settings instead of using auto
Memory is installed well.
Memory was on auto. Changed it to DDR4-2133 (16x100.00x1,33). There are no other 2133mhz options.
I couldn't find any settings for changing timing. The only thing I could find was Memory try it! but there I can only OC the ram to e.g. DDR4-3000 CL14 DDR4-3200 CL14 etc. There's only 1 CL15 value: DDR4-3466 CL15 but that's hardly normal value for a 3000mhz cl15 ram.

Also I checked connections: every cable is well in place.
 

koppi999

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2019
Messages
8
"The errors seem to be related to an attempt to import UEFI keys for Secure Boot.
I do not have Secure Boot enabled in my BIOS but do only boot in UEFI.
I have a SuperMicro board with American Megatrends BIOS Version 2.2
I was able to stop the errors simply by changing a setting in the BIOS from [Customized] to [Standard] for Secure Boot Mode.
The Customized setting allows you to modify the secure boot keys manually. The Standard just sets the default keys.
Note: This fixed my error even though I previously had Secure Boot [Disabled] in BIOS settings.

Security -> Secure Boot -> Secure Boot Mode -> [Standard] "






I have secure boot wihch either disabled or enabled and I have Secure boot mode which can be standard or custom. Now I will try some combinations and see what happens.
Until now the first one was disabled while the latter was on standard
 

koppi999

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2019
Messages
8
Unless I misread something in this thread, the sentence I quoted sounds exactly like what Sagath suggested above.:unsure:
CPU's highest temp was 45 °C
System's highest temp was like 40 °C
An instant temperature lock would mean that the cpu reaches a temperature so high that it turns itself off to protect the pc. But as I already said the cpu's highest temp was about 45°C.
Or do you mean that because one of the spring screws is not fastened the mobo or sg in the pc detects this and causes a freeze as a means of protection? Shouldn't it just simply turn off or write some message, or don't even allow powering up the pc? What kind of protection is a freeze?

Anyway, so then how could I fasten the other spring screw? Since it's quite obvious, but I still just can't do it, what am I doing wrong? The manual says perform 2-3 turns on each screw then repeat until both are fully tightened. And warns me about not using excessive force, tighten it gently.
I performed 4 turns, 2 turns and 3 turns too.

For some reason I could only tighten the spring screws when I bent the whole heatsink little to the side of the screw.
If I just align the screw thread to the mounting bar it doesn't fit in the thread. So I bend it a tiny little. But then I can't bend it to the other side because of the first one is already tightened.
I figure I should tighten it straight in, but then it's like it's blocked or something.
 
Last edited:

Izerous

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 7, 2019
Messages
292
Location
Edmonton
Just to make sure id suggest mounting the factory heatsink just to eliminate any possibilities and based on your description of wha tyou have done and how you have had issues mounting the Noctua heatsink try re-mounting the CPU in the socket. It's unlikely the CPU needs to be re-mounted but you seem to have tried almsot everyhting else.
 
Error 403 Daily Limit Exceeded. The quota will be reset at midnight Pacific Time (PT). You may monitor your quota usage and adjust limits in the API Console: https://console.developers.google.com/apis/api/youtube.googleapis.com/quotas?project=345236864347 : dailyLimitExceeded

Latest posts

Twitter

Top