What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

GPS on android

martin_metal_88

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
4,152
Location
Quebec City
Hey guys!
Just removed my free GPS from my cellphone plan ( even if it was free they dropped my bill by 10$ lol ) and I was wondering if there is a good ( free if possible ) apps for GPS that you can download map on your phone and use only the GPS signal instead of using the data network with the google nav thing. I don't plan on using it a lot but who know I might need it one day so better know now.

Thx
 

chubaka

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 14, 2010
Messages
298
Location
Van
i think Google maps for android have a cache function up to 10 mile radius.
 

chrisk

Folding Captain
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
7,540
Location
GTA, Ontario
Mapdroyd. Also, Google maps will allow you to cache up to 10 maps.

I gotta tell ya, the only thing I miss about my iPhone 4 are the map software options. Maps2Go, Garmin, and TomTom all had great offline maps, and I hope they start releasing Android versions soon.

For now, there is pretty much Mapdroyd from the searching I have done. Would love some other offline options to be posted here...
 

martin_metal_88

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
4,152
Location
Quebec City
Yeah I heard about the cache thingon google map but for some reason I don`t have this option on my phone or soft version. I`ll see what mapdroid can do. I think I have tested over 15 app for the past 2 hours XD
 

chrisk

Folding Captain
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
7,540
Location
GTA, Ontario
Oh, there is Sygic as well, but I have not tested it. You need the Sygic map program, and the Sygic map downloader. Have not tried it at all.
 

martin_metal_88

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
4,152
Location
Quebec City
Finally found Navfree. You can download map from computer or wi-fi and then use it on the phone. No need for a data network but some extra fonction can be used with data. Seems pretty good for a precise location as far as I can test it now.
 

martin_metal_88

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
4,152
Location
Quebec City
Anyway, the 10 miles area that cache allow isn't enough. The few time I may need it is to go way beyond that range and of course in some area that have no phone network available.
 
Top