What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Gpu Folding Usage For The Masses

_dangtx_

Banned
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
12,684
Location
mtl
'but mr dan,isn't it true that when i fold all of the gpu is working super hard and thus burning the maximum amount of electricity?'


not really. take a look below :








there you have it. got the question asked a whole lot :)

fold on people!!!


Way To FoldWay To FoldWay To Fold
Way To FoldWay To Fold
Way To Fold
 

4DoorGTZ

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
732
Location
Calgary, AB
GPU is at 99%, i guess the fan not being at maximum saves 2-5w.

Its the gpu that eats the power, not the fan!
 

chrisk

Folding Captain
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
7,541
Location
GTA, Ontario
Using the shaders heavily. I don't know much about the specifics of the hardware, but take a look at one of the many reviews Sky has done that shows power usage during folding:
http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardware-canucks-reviews/40119-nvidia-geforce-gtx-560-ti-1gb-review-17.html

Here is a graph with idle consumption of a 560ti:


Uses 181 watts.

Here is another chart, same rig with the 560Ti folding:


304 watts.

Not an exact experiment, but yes, if the heat the GPU is spitting out is not your first clue that lots of power is being used, then the above two graphs should help a bit.
 

_dangtx_

Banned
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
12,684
Location
mtl
which brings us to the question, how much power does said video engine consume? :)

ive got a kill a watt here so im thinking to check readings under furmark and folding and some 3dmark as well

unless someone thinks a game demo is a better idea,and which one? :)
 

LarkStarr

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
1,626
I'm just curious why you're basing you're entire assessment off of the "video engine" load.

Folding doesn't require any video, last I checked. Games do, they gotta be displayed somehow.

Furmark is the best to test with I think.
 

_dangtx_

Banned
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
12,684
Location
mtl
there you go, no load on the video engine while folding. its in the screenie :)

ill have some figures by tomorrow,unless i forget :p

furmark,though,doesn't quite represent a real life scenario,save maybe one scene in metro2033 or something,maybe.

the good thing is that it will put to hard work all of the little bits.
 

theAnimal

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
94
You could save a small amount of power & heat by dropping memory clock since that matters very little for Folding.
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top