What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

GTX 280 Power-up Issues

sw3pt

New member
Joined
Jan 15, 2008
Messages
4
Location
Toronto, Ontario
Hey guys,

I built my own rig a few months back, and have been enduring an ongoing problem since the day I put it together. When I power up my PC, I would say at least 50% of the time, the fan on my video card (GTX 280) goes to 100% speed, and I get no display from my monitors whatsoever. When this happens, depending how far along my computer is in the boot process, I have to either press my power button or hold it for five seconds and try booting again. There doesn't seem to be a pattern as to when it will work. Also on the off time my video will just decide to stop responding after a restart, and I will be forced to once again power off and retry.

My system is as follows:

CPU: Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.2GHz
GPU: BFG GTX 280 OC 1GB DDR3
RAM: 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-1000 PC2-8000 & 2x1GB Mushkin DDR2-800 PC2-6400
Mobo: ASUS P5Q Deluxe w/ latest BIOS (I've tried various versions)
PSU: Antec TruePower Quattro 850W
Case: CoolerMaster Cosmos S - I'm only mentioning this because this case takes the larger ATX cable from the PSU and has its own ATX to go into the motherboard. I believe this is to get the touch panel at the front to work, but I am unaware if this has potential for issues.
Monitors: 24" Samsung and 22" Samsung - I have no reason to believe that these are part of the issue, and I have tested with a single monitor just in case.

I have contacted BFG regarding the issue, their suggestions included a BIOS update, a driver clean-up/reinstall, and a chipset driver update. None of these suggestions have made much of a difference. Any advice from experience would be greatly appreciated.
 

thenewguy001

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
839
Location
Vancouver
You've got a pretty good rig there. Sucks to have these type of problems after shelling out so much $$$. Sounds like a PSU problem to me if you're not getting a display at startup or you have to hold the power button or reboot a couple of times. Happened to me for a few old systems when the PSU started dying and couldn't deliver enough power until it was running and warmed up for a while. Replaced PSU and no problems thereafter. You may want to wait for some PSU experts like SKY to chime in though before you do anything rash like buying a new one. If you have a spare PSU or one you can borrow, I'd try that first.
 

rjbarker

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
6,508
Location
Courtenay, B.C
Provided you did try what BFG suggested, in particular and "proper" uninstall of old Drivers and re-install new Drivers (tried a couple of versions of WHQL Drivers?) then my next step would be:
If you know someone with a Rig capable of running that 280 I would try it in a different Rig....if it continues...RMA the Card.
 

kruzn4evr

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 13, 2008
Messages
1,800
Location
Ajax, Ontario
I notice you are running 2 different sets of ram, try taking out the DDR2-800 making sure the DDR2-1000 sticks are in slots 1-3 or 2-4 or vice versa and see if that helps. You might also want to disconnect one monitor and see what happens. As rj said trying the card in another rig is always a good idea too.

ooops, was too late with this post I see..lol
 

Eagle Eye

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
2,045
Location
Kleinburg, ON
First thing I noticed and always a potential for problems, however apparently not in this case interesting to say the least.

Try what Rj suggested if you can and report back hopefully than we'll have a little more to work with and if you haven't already run your system at stock settings and only with 1 set of ram not 2 try both see it changes anything.

Btw welcome to forums :canadianwave:
 

sw3pt

New member
Joined
Jan 15, 2008
Messages
4
Location
Toronto, Ontario
First thing I noticed and always a potential for problems, however apparently not in this case interesting to say the least.

Try what Rj suggested if you can and report back hopefully than we'll have a little more to work with.

Btw welcome to forums :canadianwave:
Thanks Eagle Eye :)

I have a buddy that I'll be able to talk into helping me out who's actually part of these forums, so hopefully some time in the next few days I'll be able to test out my card on his rig. I appreciate the help that all of you guys have provided so far, so thanks a lot. I'll report back with an update in a bit, but in the meantime if there are any others that would like to provide input, feel free.
 

Eagle Eye

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
2,045
Location
Kleinburg, ON
Hey Sw3pt you're in Toronto, where abouts? If ya need another card or system to test it out I'd be happy to lend ya a hand.

EE
 

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,012
Location
Toronto, ON
Well sw3pt is at my place now however I have the Quattro 850W as well. What were the apparent issues with them?

So far, the card is doing the same thing though it resets my Maximus Formula normally until the card decides to work. However sometimes the motherboard will go on without the GPU at all.

The power LED on the card stays green throughout all this. Only turns red if I use 2 6pin PCIE power cables.

Any more thoughts?
 

Twitter

Top