What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

GTX 295 3Dmark06 of 13019?

MpG

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
3,132
Location
Kitchener, ON
That score is definitely weird. Don't have access to my home PC to verify, but I'm almost certain the fps's given for the different runs are on the low side too.

Do you have Rivatuner? Maybe run it in the background while 3DM6 is running and verify that the clocks are hitting full 3D levels properly? You shouldn't have any issues with PCI-E bandwidth on the motherboard. Both power plugs are in? Even with the processor at stock, I wouldn't expect the scores to be THAT low, but that's definitely part of the issue.
 

Infiniti

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
1,378
Location
Vancouver, BC
Maybe the OP changed the settings? Instead of running at stock of 1280x1024, he might of changed it to his native. Same with AA and the others.\

ie. I get 16k with stock settings, while if I change everything to highest and my native res, I get about 9k.
 

rjbarker

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
6,644
Location
Courtenay, B.C
I get 14k with stock settings with a 8800GT and a e8600
You still running that E8600 @ 4.6 Enab? That is going to inflate that score big time..
With my E8400 running at 3.6 Ghz and my old 8800GTX at stock I was sitting around 13K....should try a run on the 2nd Rig with the 9800 GTX+...Tried out Warhead on the 2nd Rig last night 20" native Res 1680 x whatever it is...all gamer...it seemed like it was down in the upper 20's to mid 30's fPS...
 

Eagle Eye

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
2,045
Location
Kleinburg, ON
1680/1050 Rj...Yeah the 9800GTX+ to a GTX280 is like night and day. You probably thought something was wrong compared to what you're used to.

EE
 

Barron58P

Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
5
Wow! Thanks for all of the posts!

Bought a 9650. Installed it and ORB - Compare

I have not changed any settings in the control panel or 3dmark. I see that 181.22 should be the driver that I use so I will install that tonight.

I have both the 8 pin and 6pin power connected and the card has the green light. From my reading I saw that the green light means that the power is correct.

I did forget to post that the RAM is at DDR2-800.
 

rjbarker

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
6,644
Location
Courtenay, B.C
1680/1050 Rj...Yeah the 9800GTX+ to a GTX280 is like night and day. You probably thought something was wrong compared to what you're used to.
Actually I did thing it would produce better FPS with all settings on "gamer" and no AA, smaller Res etc....but no its fine for what the wife will be using it for, could have gotten and even cheaper GPU I suppose, but for $200...seems pretty good...
That LG 20" monitor was a good deal at FS...$169...anyhoo...this I7 seems to have consumed my time on the Evga Web Site....still trying to figue the "Intermittent Boot Bug"...its how I've now titles it...hahahaha

EDIT: I think when I had the single 280 on the same Res I was able to play enthusiast at around mid 30's....it really took off once the 2nd 280 went in...with the 2 x 280's at 1920 x 1200 no AA the Benchmark was around 68 FPS..
 

Starage

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 6, 2009
Messages
65
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
Say are using an Asus Maximus II Formula?

That is a crossfire board, will a 295 run sli on that board even with the right nvidia drivers?
 

b1lk1

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 3, 2007
Messages
2,749
Location
Lindsay, Ontario
Say are using an Asus Maximus II Formula?

That is a crossfire board, will a 295 run sli on that board even with the right nvidia drivers?
No. BUT, the 295 does not run SLI through the motherboard so that doesn't matter here.
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top