What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

GTX260 pcie power connectors

blaze_125

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
340
Location
Ottawa
The gtx260 has 2 power connectors.
My psu only has 1 pcie power connector, and plenty of unused molex. I went to the store to buy a molex to pcie adapter and was offered 2 options.

1. 1 molex to 1 pcie connector.
2. 2 molex to 1 pcie connector.

Which one was I supposed to get?
 

Exlibris

Active member
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
35
Location
Montreal (NDG)
Was the 1 molex to 1 pci-e only 6 pin pci-e or 6+2? How many pins do you need for the second power connector on the 260? Should you perhaps consider a better psu?
 

enaberif

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
11,391
Location
Calgahree, AB
The 260 should have 2x6 pin for power.

Myself personally I don't like using molex to pci-e power adapters but I do know that sometimes its all you got.

All you would have to pick up was a 2 molex to 6 pin pci-e adapter.
 

blaze_125

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
340
Location
Ottawa
Has enaberif said, the 260 has 2 connectors of 6 pins each.

The 1 molex to pcie was; 1 molex to 1 pcie(6 pins)
The 2 molex to pcie was; 2 molex to 1 pcie(6 pins)

All you would have to pick up was a 2 molex to 6 pin pci-e adapter.
I'm glad I made the right decision. I picked up the 2to1.

I would have liked to get a better psu, but the difference between a new psu and the adapter is about 100$:haha:
I'm rocking a 500w OCZ psu if anyone is wondering. It's the modular type. And I got it from someone(lcdguy) very generous on this board about 2 years ago.
 
Last edited:

blaze_125

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
340
Location
Ottawa
The 2 molex to 1 pci-e allows the connect to pull power from 2 lines not just 1
Which means both options would have been good, but the 2to1 would offer more "stability"?
Does that mean I should connect each molex to 2 different rails?
I don't know if "rail" is the term I should have used... but you know... on the wires coming out of the PSU, 1 harness may have a bunch of molex, then another harness has another bunch of molex. Should I use 2 molex coming from the same harness, or 1 molex per harness?
 
Last edited:

enaberif

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
11,391
Location
Calgahree, AB
Which means both options would have been good, but the 2to1 would offer more "stability"?
Does that mean I should connect each molex to 2 different rails?
No the second option is better as the 1 molex to pci-e runs off 1 line not 2.
The 2 to 1 runs off two seperate lines which means your gonna plug the molex into or should be 2 separate molex lines.
 

yamawho

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
913
Location
Rosemere, Qc, Canada
I don't know what video card you are upgrading from or what the rest of your system has maybe you check your requirements with the psu calculator

eXtreme Power Supply Calculator

A 500watt OCZ would make me a little nervous ...

Make sure to factor in at least 20% Capacitor Aging as well.
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top