What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

GTX280 not powering up

GregH

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
1,045
Location
Kensington, PEI
My buddy got his GTX280 the other day but he hasn't been able to get it running yet. I've helped as much as I can but I'm out of ideas so hopefully someone here knows what's going on.

First off his specs:

Q6600 (I think)
ASUS P5N32-SLI Premium
OCZ GameXtream 700W PSU
BFG GTX280 (1gb)

He's got the power to the card connected as follows (sorry, not up with the technical terms for the connections):

2 x 6 pin connectors from the PSU are plugged into the 2x6 -> 8-pin adapter and into the 8-pin connector on the vid card.

2 x 4 pin connectors from the PSU into a 2x4->6 pin adapter and into the 6-pin connector on the vid card.

Each time he power on the machine there's a red light on the vid card which I assume means it's not powering on.

Machine runs fine when he puts his 2 x 7600GT's back in.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
 

Jake_HT

Well-known member
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
1,961
Location
Calgary, AB
Should be one 6 spin (pci -e), and 1 single 8 pin connector (that will be a 6 pin, plus a 2 pin that fits together to make 8 pin see pic)



 

SKYMTL

HardwareCanuck Review Editor
Staff member
Joined
Feb 26, 2007
Messages
13,410
Location
Montreal
Seems like you may be tripping the OCP on the power supply.
 

SugarJ

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
6,911
Location
Langley, BC
The PSU doesn't have 8pin PCI-E connectors, thats why he's using adapters. It is a 4-rail which will put out up to 18A on each rail.

I'd be tempted to try plugging one 6pin directly to the card, and one 6pin to the 8pin adapter. From my quick look, that should supply up to 36A. I think the problem might be that that the molexs are on the same rail as the 24pin, and aren't supplying enough juice to the 6pin connection.

You have tried it in another machine to make sure it works?
 

enaberif

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
11,391
Location
Calgahree, AB
I'm baffled by your post! Seriously.

Here is what you have:

1 X 20+4-pin ATX = Motherboard
1 X 4+4-pin CPU = Above CPU
1 X 6-pin PCI-E = GPU Power Plug 1
1 X 6+2-pin PCI-E = GPU Power Plug 2

And you need to plug in the 6+2 and the 6 for the GPU.

You shouldn't need ANY adapters whatsoever unless you have an older model.
 

GregH

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
1,045
Location
Kensington, PEI
GSX 700W does NOT have an 8-pin connector. Here is what you can try: plug the 8pin adaptor into your PCI-E cables and use a Molex to 6-pin adaptor for the other PCI-E connector.
That's how he has it connected now I believe. (Molex = the normal 4-pin connectors that power the HD, DVD etc right?)

Not working for him for some reason though...faulty card maybe?
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,899
Location
Moncton NB
If I had to guess, it'd be that the "adapter" is overloading one of the 18a rails. Not sure if there is a breakdown of the 12V rails, but have you tried using a different molex bundle?
 
Top