What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Hard drive

WolfBane

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,241
Location
new bruinswick
Can i run this as a second drive with out it being raid?
It came out of a gen dell p4 raid array.

When i ordered this dell gen 2 sata was new to the market i think ?
But one of the 120 drives crashed and i saved this one becoz it was still new !

P.S> It is a seagate model # ST3120026ASBarracuda 7200.7
Capacity:
Speed:
Average Seek Time:
Cylinders:
Heads:
Sectors:​
120.9 GB
7200 rpm
8.5 ms
16383
16
63
:help::whistle::whistle:
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,899
Location
Moncton NB
Yes you can.

The fact that it was used in a raid configuration before has no bearing on being able to use it as a stand-alone drive.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,899
Location
Moncton NB
Or for straight backup purposes. It's always handy to have another drive in place where you can put files you don't want to lose during a reformat.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,899
Location
Moncton NB
Outstanding guys:) now i also have another 250 gig ata hard drive i could use that as well?
That's going to depend on how well the motherboard controller deals with mixed ATA / SATA setups. Some handle it fine, others have issues figuring out how to prioritize the drives.

If it were me, I'd consider either selling the ATA drive, or picking up an ATA external drive enclosure to turn it into an external drive.
 

WolfBane

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,241
Location
new bruinswick
Well this is the mb i am getting !!!!! is it pretty good one for gaming ?
I think it is! as does Capt Vortex:) and would this one have the sata , ata problem?
I am also getting this : SAMSUNG 750GB 7200RPM SATA II 32MB CACHE HD753LJ
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top