What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Haswell production to start in Q4 2012

Apathetik

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 5, 2009
Messages
311
Location
Saskatoon, SK
Ooo this is good! The sooner the better! Hopefully by like March or April would be nice. I hope they will be able to hit over 5.0ghz as a standard with good cooling and proper settings.
 

SKYMTL

HardwareCanuck Review Editor
Staff member
Joined
Feb 26, 2007
Messages
13,410
Location
Montreal
Nothing about volume production. This is RISK production, if anything.
 

Dzzope

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 15, 2010
Messages
3,299
Location
Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Nothing about volume production. This is RISK production, if anything.
it will start initial volume manufacturing of its next-generation Haswell central processing units this quarter.


We expect an increase in inventory reserves as we start production on our next-generation micro architecture product code-named Haswell, which we expect to qualify for sale in the first quarter of 2013," said Stacy Smith, chief financial officer of Intel
Obviously it will be subject to no issues being found in either design or manufacturing. Just like OS's I'll give it 8 months or more before I jump on any band-wagons.
 

stoanee

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
3,225
Location
Lacombe Alberta
Wish there were more info regarding this. I am pondering a system "refresh" based on upcoming LGA2011 processors but also a "sidegrade" (if no upgrades in sight :blarg:)
 

Soultribunal

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
8,282
Location
Mississauga
Wish there were more info regarding this. I am pondering a system "refresh" based on upcoming LGA2011 processors but also a "sidegrade" (if no upgrades in sight :blarg:)
I'll wait for Gen2 before I go with an item that has a USB flaw in it.

-ST
 

AkG

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 24, 2007
Messages
5,283
The flaw is not really a big flaw. It only effects - reportedly - effects USB 3.0 devices which are attached when you put the system 'to sleep'. Restart any progs that mess up is the short term solution...and thats the scope of the problem. It shouldnt - reportedly...from what I heard - effect USB 2 devices. So as long as you dont leave your USB 3 stroage drive plugged in...and / or make sure to save your work before before putting the system into low power mode....you will be fine...or atleast that is what I have heard. Wont know for sure UNTIL it lands...but thats what I have heard :)
 

Soultribunal

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
8,282
Location
Mississauga
The flaw is not really a big flaw. It only effects - reportedly - effects USB 3.0 devices which are attached when you put the system 'to sleep'. Restart any progs that mess up is the short term solution...and thats the scope of the problem. It shouldnt - reportedly...from what I heard - effect USB 2 devices. So as long as you dont leave your USB 3 stroage drive plugged in...and / or make sure to save your work before before putting the system into low power mode....you will be fine...or atleast that is what I have heard. Wont know for sure UNTIL it lands...but thats what I have heard :)
In the grand scheme of things, its okay for an enthusiast like myself because I never go low power mode (not after a big fiasco with some older stuff and W7 Sleep Mode). However, getting sent something that is flawed at the start is the part that irks me.
If reports are true.

-ST
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top