What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

HDD not detected?

Lavitz

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 23, 2009
Messages
64
Hey guys built my new system specs:
core i7 920 do
asus p6t deluxe v2
western digital 640 black
g.skill 1600 gb ddr3
750 watt corsair

I installed windows 7 all fine, when i go start comp goes into bios intalizing..says no HDD detected but boot to the HDD also thats what its doing for the ram also? HELP!
 

MarkOne

Banned
Joined
Oct 19, 2009
Messages
4,010
Location
Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Hummmmmmmmmm so your computer boot..... I guess what you see it's the Marvel BIOS telling you it see no HD, Asus use a marvel chips for 2 sata connectors and the intel one for the others, your drive is plug on the Intel one, and no drive on the marvel, it's why it reports no drive when it boot, go in the bios you will see the Black and the memory too
 
Last edited:

Lavitz

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 23, 2009
Messages
64
^^So can you explain tad bit more should? Which one should i plug em into? Black or red
 

AkG

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 24, 2007
Messages
5,283
OK, here is what is going on. First of all you have the drive plugged into the CORRECT ports (the Intel ICH10 ports). To add more sata ports than what the Intel controller can handle ASUS added in a second chip, the Marvel chip. On startup (aka POST) this secondary chip sees if it has anything plugged into it. Since it doesn't it does not initialize itself (thus the message on post) and thus is not a drain on resources. IF / WHEN you do plug in another drive to the Marvel ports it will initialize the chip and use a wee bit of resources. Honestly, its working as it should so dont worry about it.
 

Jake_HT

Well-known member
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
1,961
Location
Calgary, AB
Mine says the same thing (P6T deluxe) but it works so I just ignore it...

it also says CPU OVERVOLTAGE ERROR... :haha: however in the BIOS it reads like 0.008V

Silly board

If it boots fine then it means nothing..
 

Lavitz

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 23, 2009
Messages
64
Oh, Thanks guys. I could of found the answer in the manual :D meh. Thx :)
 

Twitter

Top