What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Help: external raid goes to sleep

Aressem

Active member
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
31
Location
Richmond, BC
I have a 6TB WD MyBook Studio II setup in raid 1. I use it to store my archive of photos (I'm a photographer). Sometimes accessing the drive takes forever. As if it falls asleep due to inactivity. I think they are 2x 3TB WD green series drives. Is this normal? I want to find a way to keep the drives awake at all times so that I never have to wait.
 

enaberif

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
11,370
Location
Calgahree, AB
I have a 6TB WD MyBook Studio II setup in raid 1. I use it to store my archive of photos (I'm a photographer). Sometimes accessing the drive takes forever. As if it falls asleep due to inactivity. I think they are 2x 3TB WD green series drives. Is this normal? I want to find a way to keep the drives awake at all times so that I never have to wait.

Greens are the absolute worst drives for a RAID setup. Unfortunately there is a fix but I do not know if the fix works once the drives are setup.
 

Aressem

Active member
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
31
Location
Richmond, BC
Greens are the absolute worst drives for a RAID setup. Unfortunately there is a fix but I do not know if the fix works once the drives are setup.

What is so terrible about greens? I don't think the MyBook studio II accepts any other drives :(
 

BlueByte

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
540
Location
Maynooth
What you can do if everything is setup and you don't want to play with the firmware is to create a batch file that modify a text file every 10 seconds I think is the sweet spot. its enough to keep the greens from "sleeping" and dropping out of an array. The greens as a whole should just never had been a thing, the blue line is the lowest it should have ever gone(though I think the blue's suffer a similar sleeping "feature").
 

clshades

Well-known member
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
3,411
Location
Calgary
From the info I've gathered investigating external raids it was suggested to me to use enterprise class Hitachi drives. A couple of my IT buddies really like them.
 

BlueByte

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
540
Location
Maynooth
From the info I've gathered investigating external raids it was suggested to me to use enterprise class Hitachi drives. A couple of my IT buddies really like them.

I have 16TB of Hitachi drives, they work flawless. WD owns them now though so I dont know if they merged their two techs. I also have 8TB in REDs that work just as well, though maybe a bit slower then my Hitachi drives. I might have some seagates in there as well, if I do they are an older design maybe a 7200.12.... all my .11s died a awful death.
 

Aressem

Active member
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
31
Location
Richmond, BC
I have 16TB of Hitachi drives, they work flawless. WD owns them now though so I dont know if they merged their two techs. I also have 8TB in REDs that work just as well, though maybe a bit slower then my Hitachi drives. I might have some seagates in there as well, if I do they are an older design maybe a 7200.12.... all my .11s died a awful death.

Which of the Hitachi drives do you recommend?
 
Top