What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Help needed

Alpine

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 3, 2008
Messages
869
Location
Boucherville / South shore of MTL
Hello guys, i have a problem with a computer that i am building for a f riend.

First here the specs:

  1. ASUS Radeon R9 280X OC 1070MHZ 3GB 6.4GHZ GDDR5 2xDVI HDMI DisplayPort PCI-E Video
  2. ADATA Xpg V1.0 16GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24 2 X 8GB Dual Channel Memory Kit Black
  3. Corsair AX860 860W ATX 12V V2.31 80 Plus Platinum Modular Power Supply Active PFC 120MM
  4. Intel Core i7 4770K Unlocked Quad Core 3.5GHZ Processor LGA1150 Haswell 8MB Cache Retail
  5. ASUS Motherboard Z97-DELUXE LGA1150 ATX 2 X Intel LAN MDP/DP/HDMI 802.11AC WI-FI
  6. Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H105 Extreme Performance 240MM CPU Cooler w/ Customizable PWM Fan Speed
  7. Corsair Obsidian 450D ATX Black Window Gaming Case 2X5.25 2X3.5 2X2.5 Front USB3.0 Audio
  8. Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB 2.5in SATA3 SandForce SF-2281 SSD Drive READ:555MB/S
  9. LG 29UM65-P 29IN Widescreen LED 21:9 IPS DVI HDMI Black Glossy Built In Speaker
  10. ASUS BC-12B1ST Internal 12X Blu-Ray Reader & 16X DVD Writer Combo Drive SATA OEM

So yesterday i receive that. I open all the boxes and everything look like great. BTW, that Asus MB is wonderfull.

All parts in. All plugged too.

Power on, Pc start and i got this msg USB DEVICE OVER CURRENT STATUS DETECTED SYSTEME WILL SHUT DOWN IN 15.

After few read on the net, alot of peoplse have this error and that because a wrong thing with the USB connector in the front panel

So, i unplug all cable that go to the front panel. Power on, start the PC.... i still have the stupid msg. USB DEVICE OVER CURRENT STATUS DETECTED SYSTEME WILL SHUT DOWN IN 15.

Today, i have remove all part from the case. Put the mb on a boxes, put sticks of ram, plug power cable and i still have the same bug.


Anyone have a idea ?! This one sound like is a RMA needed !!
 
Last edited:

KaptCrunch

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 23, 2008
Messages
4,077
Location
Ontario
in windows or bios are you getting that message?

other is check rear I/O plate tangs aren't stuck in a socket connection
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,939
Location
Moncton NB
You didn't mention it so it needs to be asked even if you've probably done it... cmos reset?

Other than that, if it's a common problem on the forums then I'd call it a systemic issue and ask for an RMA to resolve the issue or refund of my money.
 

Bond007

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 24, 2009
Messages
5,082
Location
Nova Scotia
CMOS reset step one.
Look at all the USB connectors and see if there is any shorts (maybe inside a connector with 2 parts touching together...bent).

Other than that...its RMA time
 

Coach

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 10, 2007
Messages
1,150
Location
Morden MB
I had this message once and for me it was the front usb 3.0 i/o at fault. If I unplugged the internal usb3.0 front panel header the issue would go away.
 

clshades

Well-known member
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
2,784
Location
Calgary
A usb port is shorting on something or one of the USB pins on the mobo header (where you connect the front usb ports) is touching another pin or metal. If you can't locate it the soldering job on the mobo might be flawed causing it to short where it can't be seen.

This is caused from shorting one of the usb ports. A tiny flat head screwdriver may aid in adjusting anything visible. Otherwise it's RMA/ return the mobo time. Some stores will install the cpu and test the board for you in house just to make sure nothing is wrong. All you need is the mobo and cpu they have everything else.
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top