What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

How do you update your BIOS?

Joined
Sep 5, 2008
Messages
265
Location
Newfoundland
Ok this my sound stupid but how do you update your BIOS?. I have an ASUS P5Q-E with win XP 32bit sp3 and Intel E8400 Let me know if you need more information that that. :help:
 

CTA

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Messages
2,286
Location
langley (vancouver) bc canada
do you read the manual? it will tell you...

- download it at asus site > product > download...
- extract the winzip
- put the rom file into your usb or driver
- reboot your computer
- press alt+f2
- open the file
- update it
- wait
- it will tell you that you updated bios but you also will have to re-configure your bios...
 

enaberif

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
11,391
Location
Calgahree, AB
do you read the manual? it will tell you...

- download it at asus site > product > download...
- extract the winzip
- put the rom file into your usb or driver
- reboot your computer
- press alt+f2
- open the file
- update it
- wait
- it will tell you that you updated bios but you also will have to re-configure your bios...
Some people are too nice.

If they actually sat down and read the manual.. SURPRISE! :rtfm:
 

Squeetard

"Quote This..."
Joined
Nov 15, 2007
Messages
3,984
Location
Hell
iNSTALL THE aSUS UPDATE SOFTWARE, IT WILL CHECK FOR NEW BIOS'S AND FLASH THEM FROM IN WINDOWS.

OOPS CAPS.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,953
Location
Moncton NB
Agreed.... if there is a flash drive method please use it over the windows flash, or barring that the prefered method would be a floppy flash.

I'll admit to becoming lazy with flashes as my gear gets older, but that's based on not being overly concerned if the motherboard turns into a brick. At the very least... if you must flash your bios, drop back down to default speeds & run memtest + one of the cpu stress tests off of the UBCD ( Ultimate Boot CD - Overview ) to ensure stability prior to flashing.

It needs to be stressed that a bad bios flash is without a doubt the most "popular" method of turning your fancy hardware into a door stop. It should only be done if absolutely necessary, and even then, every possible care should be taken to prevent a bad flash.
 

Squeetard

"Quote This..."
Joined
Nov 15, 2007
Messages
3,984
Location
Hell
I've flashed hundreds of firmware/bios updates from windows, never ever had a bad one. By far the easiest method.
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,953
Location
Moncton NB
I've flashed hundreds of firmware/bios updates from windows, never ever had a bad one. By far the easiest method.
So have I, but unlike you I have run into some problems.

First thing is that you have to trust the motherboard manufacturer to get it right.... MSI is famous for using the exact same numerical designation for newer revisions of some of their motherboards, and I've had at least one board turned into a brick when their software flashed the wrong bios to the board.

The other issue with windows flashes is that many folks only think of flashing when they're having problems, and the windows flash is the first thing they turn to without considering that if Windows isn't stable, then a windows flash is the last thing they should be considering.... IMO, it's just too easy to get into the habit of doing a board flash the same as a person might do a software update... not a good idea until a person has done some research into the new bios profile.

That said.... yes, the great majority of windows flashes these days are carried out without any problems. If there is no option for a usb stick flash, that's what I do, but I also understand the risks involved.
 

Squeetard

"Quote This..."
Joined
Nov 15, 2007
Messages
3,984
Location
Hell
Wouldn't a bad/wrong bios brick the board no matter where it was flashed from?
 

sswilson

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
17,953
Location
Moncton NB
Wouldn't a bad/wrong bios brick the board no matter where it was flashed from?
Yep, but then the "UAC" mentality comes into play. It's too easy to just accept what the software is suggesting without ensuring that it's actually the correct bios. There's also the issue of instability caused by driver conflicts which wouldn't be present flashing directly from the post.

Don't get me wrong... I'm not saying that folks should never flash from windows (that would be hypocrical of me since I do some myself), I just think it's extremely important that they understand (and accept) the risks they are taking.

Flashing from outside of any OS removes a lot of possible issues with the flashing process.
 
Error 403 Daily Limit Exceeded. The quota will be reset at midnight Pacific Time (PT). You may monitor your quota usage and adjust limits in the API Console: https://console.developers.google.com/apis/api/youtube.googleapis.com/quotas?project=345236864347 : dailyLimitExceeded

Twitter

Top