What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

How to fold with a quad?

pscout

Fallen Folder
Joined
Mar 24, 2007
Messages
373
Location
folding in GTA
Pscout could you link me to the exact standard clients (text only) you are talking about.
How do i know im running big packets?

It is the second one showing on the top of the download page

"Windows NT/2000/XP/Vista text-only console (with built-in Windows-service-install option)"

link: http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandegroup/release/FAH504-Console.exe

The first time you run the client you will configure it and when it asks for "accept receipt of work assisnments and return results > 5 MB " answer 'yes'.

You can also look at the client.cfg you have with notepad (free notetab is better since it handles unix formatted files properly) and it should have a line "bigpackets=yes". DO NOT Open/save with Wordpad ... it WILL CORRUPT THE FILE and the client will run with all defaiult values including username and team #.

The supported way to look at your client.cfg settings is to run the clinet with the '-configonly' flag. It will display current or default settings, whatever is currently set and you can change them if you need to ... with -configonly the client ends after the config prompts without downloading a new wu or starting an existing one so you can run it as often as you need to but you can only have 1 client running at a time in a directory and with its own machine id (which is the last prompt under advanced setting prompt).
 

Apollo4g

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 11, 2007
Messages
874
Location
Montreal
Alright well set up a password and im using the SMP client now, its stressing my quad at 100%!! :thumb:
HardwareCanucks F@H Team just got a little more kick :biggrin:

LoL thats stuff is too complicated for me pscout!
However i did say "yes" to the 5 MB assignments :)

Just didnt do any of those things with the config file, im scared ill mess it up.
 
Last edited:

pscout

Fallen Folder
Joined
Mar 24, 2007
Messages
373
Location
folding in GTA
Alright well set up a password and im using the SMP client now, its stressing my quad at 100%!! :thumb:
HardwareCanucks F@H Team just got a little more kick :biggrin:

LoL thats stuff is too complicated for me pscout!
However i did say "yes" to the 5 MB assignments :)

Just didnt do any of those things with the config file, im scared ill mess it up.


:thumb: You should start to see some very nice points production now :biggrin:
 

Apollo4g

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 11, 2007
Messages
874
Location
Montreal
Hey guys i did a 500,000 fle in about 12 hours. Its now working on a 1,000,000 size file.
My quad at full 100% load overvlocked at 3.6 gives me load a temperature of about 50C .:thumb:
Got to love watercooling :)
 

3.0charlie

3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
10,025
Location
Laval, QC
Yup, the Q6600 oc'ed is a monster in folding. I have mine running 2 Linux distros with each their own F@H console... about 4400ppd. On a single CPU! But as you stated, water is a must.

John
 

Apollo4g

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 11, 2007
Messages
874
Location
Montreal
Yup :)
Are my rates good?

I'd like to thank you Charlie for the help you have given me in setting up my F@H :)
Hopefully ill get my E6600 rinning at 3.6 to help out :thumb:
Its in my laptop so heat is a real issue :sad:
 

3.0charlie

3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
10,025
Location
Laval, QC
My pleasure, but I didn't do too much...

To benchmark your folding, d/l Fahmon (Home | FahMon). It will give you the folding ppd (points-per-day) average. I'll know then if your crunching #s are good, compared to my Q6600. You can also add your lappy's E6600 to Fahmon if you have a network. Then we could do the same comparison with my E6400 which is folding @ 3.43GHz.

Your E6600 will be running @ 3.6 in your lappy?
 

pscout

Fallen Folder
Joined
Mar 24, 2007
Messages
373
Location
folding in GTA
Hey guys i did a 500,000 fle in about 12 hours. Its now working on a 1,000,000 size file.
My quad at full 100% load overvlocked at 3.6 gives me load a temperature of about 50C .:thumb:
Got to love watercooling :)

The key number to look at when assessing folding performance is the project number ie. 2651/52/63, 2605, 304x/305x are most, if not all the smp project #'s atm. Each project # has its own points level.

The number of steps per wu will not usually uniquely identify the project # that the wu is part of.

Here is a link to the current project summary page at stanford which list all current public projects being assigned to all current client types:

Folding@Home
 
Last edited:

stoanee

Well-known member
Folding Team
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
3,235
Location
Lacombe Alberta
So far I am getting about 1300 ppd with my stock Q6600 (B3) using the SMP client.. I would love to get 4000 ppd but my kids use the computer too so I have to keep it turned down. When I get another video card I will ditch the ASRock mobo and get something I can OC with. Hopefully my production will increase also.:biggrin:
 

3.0charlie

3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
10,025
Location
Laval, QC
So far I am getting about 1300 ppd with my stock Q6600 (B3) using the SMP client.. I would love to get 4000 ppd but my kids use the computer too so I have to keep it turned down. When I get another video card I will ditch the ASRock mobo and get something I can OC with. Hopefully my production will increase also.:biggrin:
What's your F@H id? Because you can have your F@H tag (just like mine under my forum name) if you have submitted you first WU for the team :thumb: . As for 4000ppd using a Q6600, you need to OC that Quad to reach that...

John
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top