What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

I swear I looked far and wide, but I need someone to explain "strapping" to me

donimo

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
832
Location
Vancouver Island
I swear I looked far and wide, but I need someone to explain "strapping" to me

On my mobo I have settings in the mem multi section for "strapping", specifically there is an 800, 1066 and 1333 strapping attached to duplicates of 3 of the multi choices.

I have read references to NB latencies and such, and get the general idea of what it is, but I need to know more so I can decide how it may impact my o/c attempts...

rig in da sig...
 

3.0charlie

3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
9,911
Location
Bedford QC
Where do you see that? I have the same board and don't recall seeing a strapping section. Can you take a pic of the BIOS screen?
 

donimo

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
832
Location
Vancouver Island
Go to the memory multiplier section in MIT, some of the multi's have either a +, ~ or = beside them, then on the right hand side you will see an "explanation" of them saying "+800 strapping, ~1066 strapping, =1333 strapping" (I am guessing here, not at home now).

I wish I knew what the heck it meant...

it obviously means something...
 

reaverclan

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
456
Location
USA,CA
omfg thank you i was using that too this what iv concurred that if u use the right symbol for your ram speed mines 800 then u can set it in increments, i have it unlinked from cpu and at 2.40:) hope that helps but if 3.0 could elaborate ont his conclusion plz loli hope im not frying my ram:)
 

donimo

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
832
Location
Vancouver Island
See, I still have know idea what that means though, I am seriously out in left feild for what this is for...

my ram is 1066, but setting it on "1066 strapping" really depends on the FSB, with the 2180 at stock FSB I cant even get it to stock, as the top multi is 4 (800ddr), I just dont get it:sad:
 

reaverclan

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
456
Location
USA,CA
See, I still have know idea what that means though, I am seriously out in left feild for what this is for...

my ram is 1066, but setting it on "1066 strapping" really depends on the FSB, with the 2180 at stock FSB I cant even get it to stock, as the top multi is 4 (800ddr), I just dont get it:sad:
ok if u have this first of all i have min set at 2.40= i believe for = is my symbol(800) it runs my ram at 912 unlinked from cpu that way:) just use your symbol for your ram type it says the types to the right when u scroll over spd auto. ill look at mine later today if u still dont get it, i jsut put it to what i though it meant prayed and bam it worked but if i over clock my cpu anymore without giving it more juice which im to lazy to do it boots but then vista doesn't have the control panel anymore lol
 

donimo

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
832
Location
Vancouver Island
But what I dont get is that if your ram is ddr-800, and you set it at 2.40= (800 strapping), and your final RAM speed is 933, then it ISNT running unlinked.

Unlinked would mean (to me) that no matter what you did to the FSB, and therefore the CPU, would not effect what you have the RAM set at. So you could leave the RAM at 800, and OC your CPU to whatever you want...
 

reaverclan

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
456
Location
USA,CA
my ramis unlinked i runit at 912 on purpose cause i can and keep my nice timings it stays no mater the fsb, if u put spd to auto then watch as u choose to manual the fsb and then watch it change with the fsb trust me its unlinked read your manual for the mobo lol it says that.
 

MpG

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
3,132
Location
Kitchener, ON
Are you familiar with memory timings and latencies? Basically, the Intel memory controller has similar timings, although you can't change them directly. In fact, as you increase your FSB past a certain point, the controller will suddenly relax those timings, causing a sudden drop in memory performance.

The point at which this occurs depends on what you're using as your base clock speed, or your 'strap'. If you use an 800 strap, the memory controller timings will be tight for improved low-speed performance, but that 'sudden drop' will happen early on, and you'll be limited in how high the FSB will ultimately go. Using the 1066 or 1333 strap will loosen the timings up, letting you push the FSB higher, and delay that 'sudden drop' (ideally until a point beyond the FSB you actually use). But conversely, you'll need the higher speeds to compensate for the relaxed timings.

Here's a couple links which discuss it:

XS: FSB for noobs: Basic explanation.

Bleeding Edge: Rather technical, but has some good information.

X-Bit Labs: (Scroll down to "Stepped Performance of Nvidia Nforce 680i SLI" for some really helpful graphs)
 

Twitter

Top