What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Internet keeps cutting.

Kayen

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
705
Location
Edmonton
I'm a noob when it comes to internet but ... for the last week or so my internet keeps cutting out, which requiers me to do a power cycle on my modem and router.
And takes a damn long while before it recconnects.
Oh and i'm using telus.
Not sure about Router/modem, except they're stacked up on each other so lots of heat there (good / bad/ catastrophic?)

Oh and i'm on high speed lite internet (256k connection pretty much pree darn slow.)
 

Kayen

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
705
Location
Edmonton
Haha i call it what marketing calls it despite that being not high speed at all.
 

enaberif

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
11,391
Location
Calgahree, AB
Haha i call it what marketing calls it despite that being not high speed at all.
Marketing doesn't call it "High Speed Lite Internet" either.

And what exactly are you doing on your connection? A lot of downloads or anything of that nature?
 

Kayen

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
705
Location
Edmonton
Nothing, just surfing.
I only download a 400mb file once per week.
And youtube isn't even smooth streaming for me ... T_T

Edit:
TELUS

Umm well there's high speed lite on this page..... on the far right.
 

enaberif

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
11,391
Location
Calgahree, AB
Nothing, just surfing.
I only download a 400mb file once per week.
And youtube isn't even smooth streaming for me ... T_T

Edit:
TELUS

Umm well there's high speed lite on this page..... on the far right.
Welcome to Telus and their crap of information.

Personally because its telus it could be a few different things.

Do you have their e-care installed?
 

Kayen

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
705
Location
Edmonton
Not on this computer.
But on pretty much every other machine.
And i kinda hate telus.
They sent me a nonworking Speedtouch modem, so i'm stuck using an older dlink.
And their cellphone service sucks too, and customer service.
 

enaberif

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 9, 2006
Messages
11,391
Location
Calgahree, AB
Not on this computer.
But on pretty much every other machine.
And i kinda hate telus.
They sent me a nonworking Speedtouch modem, so i'm stuck using an older dlink.
And their cellphone service sucks too, and customer service.
First off that E-Care is absolute garbage and I'd be removing it ASAP.

Second perhaps your dlink modem isn't upto the challenge of being used with telus.
 

Kayen

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
705
Location
Edmonton
yeah e-care uninstalled, and it's pretty much the only modem i got right now that works since the Speedtouch doesn't work...
 

misterlarry

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Messages
1,364
Location
The Woodlands, Texas
If you find the time to call Telus (terminal hold). Tell them what I told them, "make the problem go away or I and my phone accounts will go away". Technician on-site next day in Whitecourt from Edmonton. They're are usually pretty good if you get a hold of a service tech on the phone who knows what's going on. If you don't get lucky the first time call back. Let us know how you make out.

:thumb:
 

Twitter

Top