What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

IVY-E likes FAST ram???

mattydies

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 16, 2007
Messages
316
Location
Ottawa Valley, Ontario
I heard that IVY-E CPUs will be fond of faster ram - IVY-E will make better use of FAST ram compared to Haswell or SB-E.

Any thoughts?
 
Last edited:

mattydies

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 16, 2007
Messages
316
Location
Ottawa Valley, Ontario
I've heard that IVY-E officially supports up to 1866Mhz ram while SB-E officially supports up to 1600Mhz.
I ran my 3820 SB-E with 2400Mhz Mushkin ram effortlessly on an Assassin2 Mobo.
 

Masteroderus

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 1, 2011
Messages
641
Location
Edmonton
It would be pretty hard to fully utilize the bandwidth of 1333mhz quad channel DDR3.

However, your statement is accurate. Because it is quad channel memory, an increase in bandwidth via having faster clock speeds has double the effect when compared to dual channel memory. Someone please correct me if I am mistake as I do not own an ivy-E.

What application fully uses say 50,000 MB/sec of memory bandwidth? That would be a theoretical quad channel 2666 MHz speed, more or less.
 

mattydies

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 16, 2007
Messages
316
Location
Ottawa Valley, Ontario
While diagnosing an error (Which turned out to be a bad BIOS 'file') I ran memtest. It said my memory had a bandwidth of 22GB/sec though I don't know if that was single channel 1 stick or what.

The ram is 2400Mhz Mushkin Redline with 4X4GB installed on an X79 board (Quad Channel).
 

rjbarker

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
7,232
Location
Courtenay, B.C
^^^ 1600 VS 1866 VS 2300 ..really not a huge deal....actually as I like higher OC's on my CPU, I find it easier to achieve this by NOT using the fastest RAM out there ;) 1866 is my present sweet spot and cheaper than 2133 or 2400 !
 

SKYMTL

HardwareCanuck Review Editor
Staff member
Joined
Feb 26, 2007
Messages
12,840
Location
Montreal
I can tell you (without breaking NDAs) that there's very little difference compared to other platforms between 1600MHz, 1866MHz and 2300MHz.
 

mattydies

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 16, 2007
Messages
316
Location
Ottawa Valley, Ontario
^^^ 1600 VS 1866 VS 2300 ..really not a huge deal....actually as I like higher OC's on my CPU, I find it easier to achieve this by NOT using the fastest RAM out there ;) 1866 is my present sweet spot and cheaper than 2133 or 2400 !

Well... I did pay $150 for 4X4GB Mushkin Redline 2400Mhz RAM :biggrin:
Why do you find it easier to get HIGH OC's when NOT using the fastest ram out there? Some sort of 'strapping' conflict???

I can tell you (without breaking NDAs) that there's very little difference compared to other platforms between 1600MHz, 1866MHz and 2300MHz.

Hmm... I suppose it will be what 'SHOULD' be expected.


Thanks for the input everyone :thumb:
 

Latest posts

Top