What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Kingston SSD Security Freeze Lock

moocow

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 8, 2011
Messages
1,368
Location
Vancouver, BC
Trying to wipe a Kingston Hyper SSD using Kingston SSD Manager. While I can update the firmware, the Secure Erase option is greyed out. It told me to power off and then on the SSD without shutting down the system and frankly I don't know how to do that. I tried putting the computer to sleep and waking it and rebooting the computer but no luck. Anyone know the correct process for this?
 

Sagath

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
4,032
Location
Edmonton, AB
Trying to wipe a Kingston Hyper SSD using Kingston SSD Manager. While I can update the firmware, the Secure Erase option is greyed out. It told me to power off and then on the SSD without shutting down the system and frankly I don't know how to do that. I tried putting the computer to sleep and waking it and rebooting the computer but no luck. Anyone know the correct process for this?

Open the case and pull the wider of the two cables.
 

moocow

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 8, 2011
Messages
1,368
Location
Vancouver, BC
Pulling the power cable to the drive while the system on won't **** it up? Sounds kind of dangerous.
 

Sagath

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
4,032
Location
Edmonton, AB
Well, assuming this is your non-boot drive you're trying to wipe, no.


If its a boot drive you're trying to secure erase...well...you cant without creating/booting from different media.
 

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,136
Location
Toronto, ON
Pulling the power cable to the drive while the system on won't **** it up? Sounds kind of dangerous.
Nope, I've done it a few times too. Only way to secure erase a drive in most cases. I think plugging it in while the PC is running also works, basically as long as its not connected at boot.
 

moocow

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 8, 2011
Messages
1,368
Location
Vancouver, BC
I tried removing the power cable with the PC powered on. There's a boop device disconnect sound by Windows 7 however when I plug the power cable back in, I can't get the computer to detect the SSD again. Any suggestions?
 

JD

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,136
Location
Toronto, ON
In Device Manager you did a scan? Maybe try a scan in Disk Management too?

In your BIOS, maybe enable hotswap on that SATA port if you have the option.
 

moocow

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 8, 2011
Messages
1,368
Location
Vancouver, BC
I did do a scan with Device Manager but not with Disk Management. I don't recall a hotswap option for my old Z68 board. I'll go double check.
 

moocow

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 8, 2011
Messages
1,368
Location
Vancouver, BC
Yeah, no joy with Disk Manager either. Once I eject the device and disconnect power, it won't detect it again. There isn't a hotswap option in the BIOS and my disk controller driver is using the generic MS one and installing the latest Intel driver didn't change it. I guess I'll try it with Ubuntu live CD and see what happens. Interestingly, this post say unplug the SATA cable and not the power cable.

https://askubuntu.com/questions/604426/i-need-to-run-a-security-erase-tool-on-my-drive
 
Error 403 Daily Limit Exceeded. The quota will be reset at midnight Pacific Time (PT). You may monitor your quota usage and adjust limits in the API Console: https://console.developers.google.com/apis/api/youtube.googleapis.com/quotas?project=345236864347 : dailyLimitExceeded

Twitter

Top