What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Let's go Team !!

Exmortis

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 20, 2008
Messages
171
Location
Ottawa
My HD4870 pumps WUs for us all day while I am at work, and all night will I sleep. Two P4s at work and 1 Core2Dou at work also pump 24/7. I am a new HC folder, wish I could sneak my 700k Points over from rage3d, but alas I am worken on rebuilding that. I also has some issues with GPU WUs for a week or so, but they are all stable now.
 

Inik

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 17, 2007
Messages
1,959
Location
Montreal
I also have some problems right now with my GTX 280 with the 180.60. Trying to figure out what drivers are okay!
 

LCB001

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
1,732
Location
Aylmer QC.
I also have some problems right now with my GTX 280 with the 180.60. Trying to figure out what drivers are okay!
If you don't mind beta's the 180.70's were supposedly developed for Folding, I still use the 178.24's and find them very stable...
 

chrisk

Folding Captain
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
7,542
Location
GTA, Ontario
I bought a new 9800gtx+ just to fold...problem is, when I run both cards in my folding rig (9800gtx+ and the 9600gso), the machine reboots...I am afraid that the Corsair 550VX might not be enough to run the folding rig, which would be a p-off since I just put the 550 in the computer brand new.

My 260 core 216 is still chugging along in my main rig and I am still over 10000ppd right now...if I can get the 9600gso running in one of my rigs I can add another 3000-4000 no prob. I am talking to a few people I know who think the folding thing is 'cool' so hopefully I can get them to join.
 

LCB001

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
1,732
Location
Aylmer QC.
I bought a new 9800gtx+ just to fold...problem is, when I run both cards in my folding rig (9800gtx+ and the 9600gso), the machine reboots...I am afraid that the Corsair 550VX might not be enough to run the folding rig, which would be a p-off since I just put the 550 in the computer brand new.

My 260 core 216 is still chugging along in my main rig and I am still over 10000ppd right now...if I can get the 9600gso running in one of my rigs I can add another 3000-4000 no prob. I am talking to a few people I know who think the folding thing is 'cool' so hopefully I can get them to join.
That Corsair should be able to handle both those cards, it will definatly handle the GTX+ easily.
 

BT!

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 10, 2008
Messages
842
Location
Muskoka
can i fold on a P4 @ 3ghz w/hyperthreading, 1.5gb ram and a 6600gt (agp) ?
 

LCB001

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
1,732
Location
Aylmer QC.
can i fold on a P4 @ 3ghz w/hyperthreading, 1.5gb ram and a 6600gt (agp) ?
Your P4 could probably run two instances of the standard CPU client, I don't think that GPU can run Cuda and there for can't Fold...
 

BT!

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 10, 2008
Messages
842
Location
Muskoka
ok, because i started the CPU client, second one on the list of CPU clients here

[email protected] - DownloadWinOther (Windows XP/2003/Vista/2008 SMP client console version 6.22 beta2 for MPICH (32-bit or 64-bit))

and it is just sitting at 0%

Completed 0 out of 5000000 steps (0%)

i just did a fresh install of XP PRO, and have .net 1.1, 2 and 3 installed and had to reboot, going to give it a few minutes and see if it starts working
 

3.0charlie

3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
9,910
Location
Bedford QC
I've tried CPU folding with some P4s. Not worth it: ~300ppd, a lot of heat and very high power consumption.
 

BT!

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 10, 2008
Messages
842
Location
Muskoka
ya, i doubt i`m going to try much more to get it working with this P4, its loud and annoying anyway, don`t think i could handle listening to it 24/7. it only a back-up PC for when i`m fixing or upgrading this one.
 
Error 403 Daily Limit Exceeded. The quota will be reset at midnight Pacific Time (PT). You may monitor your quota usage and adjust limits in the API Console: https://console.developers.google.com/apis/api/youtube.googleapis.com/quotas?project=345236864347 : dailyLimitExceeded

Twitter

Top