What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Let's go Team !!

Xeven

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 20, 2010
Messages
601
Location
Vancouver, BC
Let's see, I have 4x140mm intake, 3x120mm exhaust, 1x 120mm internal director, 2x80mm internal director, 1x80mm back of CPU, 1x 120 + 1x140mm on heatsink. Believe me, I've filled all the slots and added some more :haha: I run the 460s at 0.937V stock speed, but these are the factory OC'd ones at 763Mhz and this is the lowest it can go without blowing up. Normally they run @58C max, which is ok I guess since everything is cramped and the cards are roasting each other :haha:

On a side note, all my 460s have coil whine which is wrecking havoc with my brain. :angry2:
 
Last edited:

_dangtx_

Banned
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
12,684
Location
mtl
lol.ok.

coil whine...i usually get rid of those. play with core/shader speeds to try to silence them lambs :rofl:
 

Sagath

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
4,018
Location
Edmonton, AB
your wattage numbers for a 920 seem waaaay out of whack. My CPU consumes (according to my UPS) <100W under full load. Obviously Im taking 'idle on' wattage and subtracting it from the full load wattage, since the idle wattage is in use regardless of GPU folding or not. This also would technically raise the 460's wattage because you HAVE to have the 'idle on' wattage (and some cpu cycle wattage) included with the 460s to run them, spreading the PPD/watt further. You could also make the 460's more efficient by providing them a more power friendly rig.

And again to further cloud the issue, Wattage could vary a lot depending on PS efficiency. I get better wall wattage out of my TX750 then a HX1kW by about 8%. I burn near to 500w (with the TX750) from the wall with JUST 2x460 folding -advmethods 900 pointers, and about 440w (TX750 again) if it pulls a regular 600 pointer due to lower CPU cycle use. (HX1kW was about ~520W and ~450W.). To compare that with the sub-300w I burn CPU folding (I'm still tweaking my voltages down), its a no brainer. I could probably drop that sub-300w even further if I pulled the 460's for a REALLY low power GPU...but then I couldnt game worth a damn :haha:

Anyways, thats why I stopped folding with the 460's too, between the stolen CPU cycles on the -advmethods making SMP folding shit, and basically half the power consumption for equal PPD if I just SMP fold, the choice was easy.
 

Sagath

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
4,018
Location
Edmonton, AB
And this is worth of its own post! I just checked my rig this morning (noticed I hadnt got any points since about 11pm last night) and I'm 20% done a 26xx unit! WOO! After five days, I finally pulled a -bigadv bonus unit!!!!
 
Last edited:

Zero82z

Banned
Joined
Sep 2, 2009
Messages
5,409
Location
Montreal, QC
And this is worth of its own post! I just checked my rig this morning (noticed I hadnt got any points since about 11pm last night) and I'm 20% done a 27xx unit! WOO! After five days, I finally pulled a bonus unit!!!!
All SMP units are bonus units, and there are no 27xx units so I assume you meant 26xx.
 

chrisk

Folding Captain
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
7,542
Location
GTA, Ontario
I have been getting instant eue's on project 10632 (GPU3). Looks like others in the folding forum have been getting the same. Also of note that some folks have been getting assigned WUs that have been already done by others (same project).
 

Zero82z

Banned
Joined
Sep 2, 2009
Messages
5,409
Location
Montreal, QC
Chris, you're going to have to be more specific with the run, clone, and gen of the unit or units that are failing for you. I have folded numerous P10632 units without any problems.
 

chrisk

Folding Captain
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
7,542
Location
GTA, Ontario
Project: 10632 (Run 22, Clone 84, Gen 42) right now. Another failed a couple of days ago right away but I did not take note of it.
 

ilya

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
1,562
Location
Markham
Project: 10632 (Run 22, Clone 84, Gen 42) right now. Another failed a couple of days ago right away but I did not take note of it.
I just got the same project and got this:
mdrun_gpu returned
[15:52:01] Nonzero force sum on GPU
[15:52:01]
[15:52:01] [email protected] Core Shutdown: UNSTABLE_MACHINE
[15:52:04] CoreStatus = 7A (122)
It's been like this quite a bit since the -advmethods shortage.
I reverted to stock clocks to make sure it's not the sudden heatspike here.
 
Error 403 Daily Limit Exceeded. The quota will be reset at midnight Pacific Time (PT). You may monitor your quota usage and adjust limits in the API Console: https://console.developers.google.com/apis/api/youtube.googleapis.com/quotas?project=345236864347 : dailyLimitExceeded

Latest posts

Twitter

Top