What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Let's go Team !!

4DoorGTZ

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
732
Location
Calgary, AB
Reason for bringing up x5670's is due to a power/space issue. The rackmount server I'm drooling over runs off a single 1200w power supply, and could easily use a single 15a wall socket UPS since it probably wont draw a full 1200w unless loaded with drives. BUT its not overclockable and can only use cpu's with a draw of 95w or less (x5670 being the fastes of those and $1k on ebay occasionaly). Being enterprise level hardware it wouldnt suffer from SR-2-itis, much like the troubles I had with my asus Z7S-WS a while back. I'm guessing but 4 OC'd sr-2 rigs (wich would compare socket wise, but OC'd would be higher ppd) might draw over 1200w, and thats very close or over what 1500VA ups's can handle. So I was weighing 4sr-2's with 2ups's (plus extended runtime modules each) vs 1 of these 2u rackmounts and 1ups+1ERM.

lol, HWC and maybe the other large [email protected] team forums is about the only place I can vent these idea's.... everywhere else I'm some kinda moron for wanting to run so many cpu's for a "research project", I asked elsewhere about wiring some 30a sockets in a basement for larger UPS's and boy, people thought I was gonna run a datacenter in my basement.
 

lowfat

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
9,296
Location
Grande Prairie, AB
Lost a good 90,000 points due to an error while entering my passkey. :doh:

And on other news, I got ANOTHER P2684. :angry2:
 

_dangtx_

Banned
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
12,684
Location
mtl
pulling some extra ppd before the puters leave here. cant stay and baby sit them, but vs 1.5k i was doing before it aint so bad this past couple days :D
 

boggtrotter59

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 29, 2009
Messages
920
Location
Kingston Ontario
Unfortunately Asus has not released any bios updates for my P8P67-LE... :angry2: so the max I can get outta my 2600K so far is only 4.4 Ghz :sad: Only pulling 15.4 K on a P6702... will try a bigadv once that one is done but I'll probably just get a P2684...

go team go!!!
 

crazyhorsejohnny

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
2,020
Location
Ottawa
Reason for bringing up x5670's is due to a power/space issue. The rackmount server I'm drooling over runs off a single 1200w power supply, and could easily use a single 15a wall socket UPS since it probably wont draw a full 1200w unless loaded with drives. BUT its not overclockable and can only use cpu's with a draw of 95w or less (x5670 being the fastes of those and $1k on ebay occasionaly). Being enterprise level hardware it wouldnt suffer from SR-2-itis, much like the troubles I had with my asus Z7S-WS a while back. I'm guessing but 4 OC'd sr-2 rigs (wich would compare socket wise, but OC'd would be higher ppd) might draw over 1200w, and thats very close or over what 1500VA ups's can handle. So I was weighing 4sr-2's with 2ups's (plus extended runtime modules each) vs 1 of these 2u rackmounts and 1ups+1ERM.

lol, HWC and maybe the other large [email protected] team forums is about the only place I can vent these idea's.... everywhere else I'm some kinda moron for wanting to run so many cpu's for a "research project", I asked elsewhere about wiring some 30a sockets in a basement for larger UPS's and boy, people thought I was gonna run a datacenter in my basement.
Hydro company is going to think you're growing weed !!!
 

Charloz24

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
262
Unfortunately Asus has not released any bios updates for my P8P67-LE... :angry2: so the max I can get outta my 2600K so far is only 4.4 Ghz :sad: Only pulling 15.4 K on a P6702... will try a bigadv once that one is done but I'll probably just get a P2684...

go team go!!!
Seems like this is the same story for all board, cheaper board doesn't get Bios update as often as their top of the line. Waiting on my side for a better bios on my gigabyte boards (P67a-Ud3) for better Vdroop control...
 

boggtrotter59

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 29, 2009
Messages
920
Location
Kingston Ontario
The stock bios on my board is really lame... very few O.C. settings and no ability to enable Internal PLL Overvoltage... hopefully that will come with future bios revisions. Had a hell of a time getting the board stable manually so I ended up using the Windows based overclocking utility that comes with the board (AI suite II). Never used a windows based tool before but I must say it works quite good... went with the extreme setting and it clocked the board up to 4.4 Ghz... currently getting 41,000 PPD on a 6900 so I guess I shouldn't complain.
 
Last edited:

lowfat

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
9,296
Location
Grande Prairie, AB
Always make sure you have the right date and time set on your system clock before downloading a WU. I just lost 260,000 points because of these stupid SR-2s resetting the bios on its own. :angry2:
 
Last edited:

Twitter

Top