What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Let's go Team !!

4DoorGTZ

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
732
Location
Calgary, AB
Waiting for a reply from Tear for the link to the modified TPC..... even then I dont look forward to modifying 48 entries per item I want to change.
 

3.0charlie

3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
9,911
Location
Bedford QC
48 entries? From the documentation:

Let's see a simple example. If you want to set the frequency of your pstate 0 to 2000 Mhz to all cores you just have to launch such a command:

> TurionPowerControl set core all pstate 0 frequency 2000
Maybe you want to set core voltage too, let's say 1.200 volts, then the command will become like this:

> TurionPowerControl set core all pstate 0 frequency 2000 vcore 1.200
 

4DoorGTZ

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
732
Location
Calgary, AB
Hmm, seems like I got 2.3-->2.5 to work.... not entirely sure since I have no clue what this rig did on normal smp before.... no bigadv to compare times too, and it seems down on power from the wall but that could be bigadv-->smp as well.
 

3.0charlie

3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
9,911
Location
Bedford QC
I did some further testing this evening, and I don't believe it works on stock chips, only Extra Spicy ones.
 

4DoorGTZ

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
732
Location
Calgary, AB
if thats the case, maybe I'll try for an undervolt.

So, cant be sure of the freq, but the undervolt had some results. went from 1.1625 to 1.0 and the (regular smp) full load went from 610w to 575w, could be a difference in wu. But idle draw went down 10w. just gonna give it a few wu before I call it a success.
 
Last edited:

4DoorGTZ

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
732
Location
Calgary, AB
Ok, Charile, you definetly want Sfield/Tear's modified TPC....Original only handles 1socket. I loaded it with just the -l flag and it showed that only the first 12cores were adjusted by the non modified version. So I used the modified one and wow! Idle down another 20w and load down to 480w (1.0v vcore).
 
Last edited:

4DoorGTZ

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
732
Location
Calgary, AB
holy crap but whats the frequency they're running at?

nice!
I set them to 2.5, but if that only affects ES chips then they're running at the stock 2.3, its known that the TPC changes arent "visible" with other cpu info tools in linux, they report what the chips settings tell them it should be. From what I've read the only way to be sure is run some benchmarking at stock and at changed values and compare. [email protected] is my benchmark.... albeit useless without bigadv :(

I was never much or a linux guy but I remember DOS being a whole lot easier command line wise.... I still dont understand what I'm doing, just following others and googling commands others glance over cuz they're basic.
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top