What's new
  • Please do not post any links until you have 3 posts as they will automatically be rejected to prevent SPAM. Many words are also blocked due to being used in SPAM Messages. Thanks!

Let's go Team !!

SugarJ

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
6,911
Location
Langley, BC
I have not done a corehack. My current CPU PPD is about 43k, IIRC. I'll have to check when I get home.

I used to get bigadv units, but they finally disabled it for anyone with less than 16 cores a month or so back.
 

MARSTG

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
4,306
Location
Montreal
if I remember correctly you would need an OC ~3.4GHz+ to do the 8101s which those chips should do easy. Having The Kraken installed help alot...
I don't think the Kraken wrapper would help in 2P cases, from what I have seen is more for the the 4P system. For me to get those chips at 3.6 I would need water cooling, in my case probably 2 x H60. It starts to become complicated. I'll look how feasible this is. But what about getting just simple smp units in my case? I would have to run 2 separate VMs with each one with -SMP 12 flag?
 

lowfat

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
9,204
Location
Grande Prairie, AB
Never run more than one CPU client ever. Your PPD will drop like a rock. Just a single VM w/ 24 threads. I would also still suggest installing The Kraken wrapper.
 

Dead Things

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
2,038
Location
Centre of the Universe
I don't think the Kraken wrapper would help in 2P cases, from what I have seen is more for the the 4P system.
True that thekraken was optimized for MP, but it should still help DP systems quite a bit. It even helps UP systems in many cases.

In other news, all four of my GPU clients are working on P8018 right now. :biggrin: That's takes my GPU PPD from about 30k to about 45k. I <3 those projects!
 

Tim_H

Well-known member
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
218
Location
Regina, SK
I'll second that about using thekraken on most if not all systems. even if it doesn't make a noticeable difference it shouldn't slow it down. (just installed it on a 2p LGA 771 system, it should drop the frame times.)
 

lowfat

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
9,204
Location
Grande Prairie, AB
I wanted a Skulltrail so bad when it was released. There are a couple of QX9775 on eBay for ~ $250 each. Still outrageous for a C2Q.
 

Tim_H

Well-known member
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
218
Location
Regina, SK
What specs?

I recently got my hands on a D5400XS and a bunch of S771 Xeons to play with this winter, everything from Dempsey to Harpertown. Been wanting one of those for a long time! Too bad used QX9775's are still a mint.
I actually picked up two identical systems, They are Supermicro X7DWE boards with 2xL5420's and 2x2GB dimm's. I have done the BSEL mod to them bumping them from 2.5GHz to 3.0GHz. Currently one of them is having some problems with heat, but I think I just need to clean and re-seat the heatsink's. Each system can produce between 15K and 30K, depending on the WU's, typically I see about 20K.
 

BrainEater

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 19, 2007
Messages
2,768
Location
Calgary
Even q9450's are a mint.I wish I did'nt kill mine.

:haha:

Let's go team !!

It was 4c here in Calgary today , brr.

:thumb:
 

Latest posts

Twitter

Top